2D Artwork: Transformers: Robots in Disguise, "Brothers"

Discussion in 'Transformers Fan Art' started by Superquad7, May 30, 2010.

1. Superquad7

Superquad7 We're only human. Super Mod

News Credits:
    When I first got back into Transformers in 2000, one of my first main interests within Transformers was illustration. I started drawing some of my old, favorite G1 bots, but when RiD hit I really got into the toys (and even the cartoon). After I got into RiD, I wanted to create a set of videos (this is before the technology to make DVDs was commonplace) where I'd end up making a boxed set of the whole series. The Rhino sets hadn't been out too long, and I really liked how they were done. I decided that I wanted a box, along with "animation cels" as well as artwork that I could multipurpose. This is one such illustration.

Here is the original inked line art:

[​IMG]

. . . . and here is the colored artwork, using Photoshop:

[​IMG]

This is actually one of the first full pieces I've colored using Photoshop; I'd like to think my skills have improved a little since then :) 

If you're interested, the original project thread can be viewed here: http://www.tfw2005.com/boards/radicons-customs/210830-rid-set-w-extras.html#

Also, here is the gallery of the boxed set: RiD VHS boxed set - Scratch Built Customs - TFW2005.COM

Thanks for lookin' :) 

Attached Files:

2. mattarmstrong

mattarmstrong Well-Known Member

i have always loved the line art and now seeing it colored is awesome

3. dsn1014

dsn1014 41:75:74:6f:62:6f:74

Thats looking good, its cool to revisit old work to hone skills. I've been working away on GIMP lately and recoloured some of my own stuff, its been great to get practice and get the creative juices flowing again. Are you planning on doing more like this?

It looks really good, the colours are vibrant and you've nice effects going on. I'd like to see more of this.

4. Black Oracle

Black Oracle Black Convoy's Dark Angel

News Credits: