Transfomers 3

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by Mega-con, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. Mega-con

    Mega-con Autocon

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Cybertron.

    Would any of you prefer they they shift the movie back to Cybertron, as in a return-to-home or war-ending type plot?

    I guess the biggest problem would be that the Transformers would no longer need their alternate modes. I could care less, but Hasbro might have an issue with that.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Jetcols

    Jetcols Elite Guard

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    650
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    If it was all set on Cybertron, with no alt modes or humans it would just be a really good CGI film.
     
  3. Mega-con

    Mega-con Autocon

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Yeah, I was thinking more of a 50/50 or even 60% Earth and 40% Cybertron. As long as the plot was Transformers going back to Cybertron.
     
  4. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    You mean just the same robots, just on Cybertron the whole film?

    It would be cool, but nearly impossible.

    Do you know how much that would cost? Let's just say, A LOT.
     
  5. Alienbot

    Alienbot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    2,063
    News Credits:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +21
    It would be cool if Michael Bay followed in his idol James Cameron's path by making a primarily computer-generated, photorealistic film set on another world, but I deem it not only unlikely due to budgetary and timing reasons, but also because Bay has stated he likes his action grounded and explosions and crashes for real. Besides, where's the threat if Unicron consumes a dead world? I'd concur if the third film visited Cybertron it'd be a lower fraction of the storyline where the characters have to find a plot device or another character (eg. Omega Supreme, the Last Autobot, Primus himself, Lord knows what might be inhabiting the planet now all the Transformers are gone...)
     
  6. Mega-con

    Mega-con Autocon

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    I still think they can manage to create a set that could substitute as Cybertron and save money on CGI. And it doesn't have to take place on Cybertron the entire movie, just be about the return to Cybertron.
     
  7. Alienbot

    Alienbot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    2,063
    News Credits:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +21
    D'oh, forgot movies still use sets. :lolol 
     
  8. Lock Cade

    Lock Cade Tarn Fangirl TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    26,861
    Trophy Points:
    352
    Location:
    Michigan
    Likes:
    +97
    No can-do on having all of TF-3 set on Cybertron. Maybe if they have to return to Cybertron for something vital to end the war, so to speak, in this trilogy that the crew seems to have set up here. But other than that, no setting the movie entirely on Cybertron.
     
  9. Cyberjet #7

    Cyberjet #7 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    War-ending? Than how would Hasbro make all their repaints?
     
  10. jadtdt

    jadtdt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    Every 'bot gets little white flag emblems painted on.
     
  11. daitarn red

    daitarn red bionic hero

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Posts:
    4,447
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +1
    primus battle unicorn in human form in beginning of tf 3 movie - primus into planet cybertron - end of tf 3 movie is planet cybertron transform into primus the robot - primus help autobots defed unicorn and decepticons
     
  12. the man

    the man I iz a Roadbuster fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    :lolol  primus vs unicorn=big mystical mess
     
  13. Shockscream

    Shockscream Chairman of Nerd Day

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2,817
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +4
    Two giant alien robot-planets? God, think of the cost!
     
  14. Shadow25

    Shadow25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    2,745
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +7
    Guys, come on! You know that Megatron must be stopped, no matter the cost. In all seriousness, Cybertorn, which would probaby be all CGI, shouldn't replace real set pieces, because that would make everything look way too artificial, and Bay likes the challenge of using real stunts on all non-bots stuff.

    I'm more concerned about characters. I think we'll see Unicron, but I want Prowl, Wheeljack, Shockwave, and the Seekers to appear.
     
  15. PrimePower04

    PrimePower04 I got the touch!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    I think it may be a possibility we see a 5-10 minute CGI of cybertron in ROTF..what do you think?... and maybe another scene or 2 in TF3 but i like how it is...

    Those of you suggesting Unicron battle vs. primus..please stop!!

    maybe they could mention primus and unicron in the movie verse, but hopefully its a past tense reference...I hope the writers create a new threat..and to stop it Prime finds the matrix or something!
     
  16. Shadow25

    Shadow25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    2,745
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +7
    I agree with you. I'm not saying Cybertron is out of the question, I just doubt the majority of a film would take place there. Especially since we'll be looking at the Fallen and other ancient TFs, I think we'll get a good look.
     
  17. Zombiedude

    Zombiedude Junkion Warrior

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Considering in the movieverse, Cybertron is a derelict planet with the entire race of transformers scattered across the universe, I think a return trip to the planet is really, really unlikely.
     
  18. Ash from Carolina

    Ash from Carolina Junior Smeghead

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    14,134
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +198
    I don't know I just don't see it being set entirely on Cybertron. Autobots and humans are just something that seems to be the peanut butter and jelly of the universe. You just sort of need the meat bags around sort of like how you couldn't have a Futurama movie with just Bender. So who want's to drag the humans all the way to Cybertron when it could save a lot of plot time to just set the movie on Earth?

    Unless Cybertron changes from the first film the place seemed a bit dark, busy and metal colored so from a visual stand point I think the robots might look better with an Earth back drop. Hopefully a well lit back drop and none of this dark alley stuff.

    Besides it's in Bay's contract to blow something bigger up each movie so by the time we get to the third film he should be ready to blow up Cybertron. Sort of his chance to see if can out do Lucas blowing up the Death Star.
     
  19. daitarn red

    daitarn red bionic hero

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Posts:
    4,447
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +1
    No way planet cybertron blowed up - it home of tfs and also is primus and father of 13 anicet tfs and unicorn 's brother
     
  20. Alienbot

    Alienbot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    2,063
    News Credits:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +21
    We're not Cybertron was destroyed, we're saying it's dead and uninhabited - in this continuity Primus' vessel is presumably the Cube.
     

Share This Page