Trans-fan wanting to start up collectables biz. Would like feed back

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Patto Prime, Jan 23, 2008.

1. Patto Prime

Patto Prime Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Hi guys,

I'm a bit of a newb here but have been a big fan of the site and for quite a while and a fan of transformers since I was four years old.

I'm living in Melbourne Australia and really want to get my own online collectables business up and running. Its really a big dream of mine and to be honest I don't currently wake up in the morning thinking "lets go sell a door, kitchen or some hardware" at my current job. I love my hobbie and its something I'm passionate about.

I suppose as a one fan to many others I really wanted to know what appeals to you guys when you buy stuff online. I also want to know what ticks you off. It doesn't have to be transformers specific but I guess your particular insight would be handy.

So there it is, just one fan looking for a hand. Any feed back would be really cool and much appreciated.

Cheers guys

2. llamatron

llamatron Shut up, Nigel. TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    If you're in Australia then let me show you the competition:

Casefresh - they deal with all kinds of collectible toys and have a decent range of TFs.

Transfigure - mainly deal with TFs

There's a few others but those are the main guys for TFs.

I think the most important thing for running an online TF store that sells new TFs is making it cheaper or equal to (including shipping) buying the toy from a retail shop. No one wants to plunk down $30 for a deluxe and then another $8 for shipping when you can buy them for $25ish in stores.

3. Patto Prime

News Credits:
    Thanks Llamatron

Thanks for the handy details and the quick reply. Do you think its better to have a dedicated website or just use ebay.

Anyway I gotta bail now. Gotta go get dinner. Thanks once again. Really appreciate the input.

4. Chaos Muffin

Chaos Muffin Misadventure Veteran