Customs: Tips for a first time Radicon

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by TfAnimatedfan, Aug 1, 2009.

1. TfAnimatedfan

TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

News Credits:
    Hi guys, I'm new to the customs and I wanted to get your opinions on my idea for my first repaint. I was planning on repainting ROTF Scalpel into a ROTF version of Perceptor. I wanted to use Testors Paints(are they any good). I could use some tips from ANYONE who has painted Scalpel. Just please give this first time Radicon some tips on customize What brands of brushes/Paints/thinners should I buy an how can I go about changing Scalpel's Decepticon symbol into an Autobot symbol ? I would like to hand paint it, not spray paint it.

2. Treadshot A1

Treadshot A1 Or just 'A1' for short...

Would you mind clarifying which Testors paints you're using? Model Masters Enamel, Acryl, etc.? I can personally say i quite like Model Masters Enamel. As for brushes, i really have no idea. I personally use paintbrushes made by Delta, but that's mainly because i can't find anything else good. e sure to get some thinner, or you'll never get any enamel paint off your brush.

I'm afraid i haven't actually painted Scalpel, but the same techniques should apply. For the symbol, ist it just painted on, or is it physically sculpted on? If it's just painted, should be a breeze, just paint over, and get some reprolabels. If it's sculpted in the outline of the symbol, i can only think of sanding it down till it's flush with the rest of the part, then add a reprolabel, though some of the pros round here could probably find a better way.

At any rate, why not check out the tutorials section, using the links bar to the right? Good luck.

3. Wingsbr

Wingsbr Christian TF Fan :)

News Credits: