Third parties in other franchises, comparable?

Discussion in 'Transformers 3rd Party Discussion' started by Big Dawg, Jan 18, 2012.

1. Big Dawg

Big Dawg Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Hey everyone. So I've noticed a lot of thread's speculating on future value of modern transformers, about how some currently hot figures prices will crash and that they will be comparable to beenie babies as a current fad. Then I got to thinking about economic indicators (my background is in economics) regarding the preformance of a company in the market. An example is men's socks. Men tend to buy socks when the economy is good, and don't when the economy is bad (basically it is a luxury good to men and they will wear their socks until they disintegrate when money's tight).

The sock metaphor made me think of transformer 3rd parties and the abundance of people we have making figures for us collectors specifically, making me think the TF market is healthy, and possibly healthier than ever. The problem is, is this a general trend across licensed properties or has trasformers become so big we can support these boutique manufacturers well into the future.

So I guess my point, or question would be, do other licensed properties have anywhere near the third party support that transformers is getting? I know there are some 3rd party makers for robotech stuff and for 1/6 scale figures, but are they from established companies like fansproject and igear (and Maketoy to an extent)?

Does anyone agree or disagree? Sorry if this seems rather longwinded, but it just kinda popped into my head and gave me a positive feeling towards the health of our beloved franchise.

2. Scaleface

Scaleface Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Lego seems to dislike custom brick makers with a passion.

There is also some angst among makers of certain lead figures with Games Workshop.

3. Big Dawg

News Credits: