The reason why there were more Humans than bots.

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by Archaea, Jul 3, 2011.

  1. Archaea

    Archaea Autobot Archeaologist

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    390
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    As much as I wanted to see more of the Transformers themselves. People on this board have a full lack of Studio animation understanding.

    Even with 100% completed models of each and every transformer, the piecing together of each scene is an act in tedium.

    It literally takes 2-3 hours of animation, compressing, and rendering to a scene with just the robots themselves. why do you think when they are all in one scene, movement is minimal from individual bots.

    Unless they are important to the scene in a dialogue way, they keep minimal animation. They had Optimus doing the Letterman countdown, his movements were constantly being recycled. Theres a ton of cost in doing animation.

    Eventually faster computers and AI calculations will make it cheaper and easier. That's why they focus heavily on the humans, outside of scripting purposes.
    Avatar got away with it because the used the actual actors, then CGI'ed them. Minimal work involved.

    I don't think people get it... they never will.
    People instead of looking beyond things, take it at face value without understanding the work involved.
     
  2. a.g.e.1

    a.g.e.1 Autobots....Roll Out!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    That makes sense. I personally loved all three movies. The only thing I don't like is the unnecessary scenes like seeing a man's bottom (Simmons) or over sexual jokes (toilet humour) and other unnecessary things. Other than that, I love this triology and it's been one great ride for the past 4 years for me.
     
  3. Fishdirt

    Fishdirt Tin Toy Transformer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    3,639
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +4
    Ebay:
    Bot modes were mo caped like avatar. This also doesn't hold water because rotf and the first movie were bot heavy with the same or smaller budget. The issue, I think, isn't with the lack of bots but the actual lack of the title "stars" of the movies having any actual star parts.
     
  4. ThisGuy

    ThisGuy True Leader

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,089
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    $. That is and always will be the reason.
     
  5. ErbFan28

    ErbFan28 Go Dennis Erb Jr. #28!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    6,611
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    192
    Likes:
    +13
    Yup
     
  6. Archaea

    Archaea Autobot Archeaologist

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    390
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Exactly you gotta pay them animators to sit in front of those pc's for hours on end. That gets expensive. Even Bay stated that the robot animation was more thorough on this one. That takes time and money.
     
  7. uruseiranma

    uruseiranma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,161
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +1
    Do you have proof of this? The original 2 TF films they took reference footage of guys flyng around and fighting, but the bits were all frame-animated by animators.

    I'm pretty sure Farrar and the Ilm guys kept it the same in this film..
     
  8. Oracle_Aesir

    Oracle_Aesir Outback is back

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,552
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    Here's another reason why there's more humans than robots in these movies....they're set on Earth?!
     
  9. bellpeppers

    bellpeppers A Meat Popsicle

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    13,571
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +239
    Cool story.
    Which studio you work at or run?
     
  10. AutobotSkids

    AutobotSkids G1/Bay Lover

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,414
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    Does he necessarily have to work at a studio to have an understanding of the way these people work? Come on bellpeppers, anyone can find this information given the right resources. The guy's obviously done his homework, which is a hell of a lot more than most people will bother to do before bitching about the lack of robots.
     
  11. bellpeppers

    bellpeppers A Meat Popsicle

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    13,571
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +239
    It would grant him more credibility.
     
  12. Faded-Myth

    Faded-Myth Oddbot

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    664
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    It actually takes a great deal more than 2 to 3 hours. It can take weeks just for one shot, sometimes months depending on what you're rendering. Even after modeling and animating, rendering alone can take an extraordinary length of time. I believe the creation of Shockwave alone was said to have taken 30 weeks, and that was even before implementing him into shots. I'm a 3D environment artist, and a still frame alone of a static environment can take a good few hours.
     
  13. bellpeppers

    bellpeppers A Meat Popsicle

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    13,571
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +239
    Don't forget about the compositing.
     
  14. Archaea

    Archaea Autobot Archeaologist

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    390
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    I never worked for a Studio. Im an architect and Photographer, with a degree in Computer programming, a certificate in 3d design, and practical work experience.

    I worked for Bosch an Aluminum Company in SC, and IBM. Credibility enough?^^
     

Share This Page