Scratch Builds: TGping’s Scratchbuilding Process

Discussion in 'Tutorials and How Tos' started by TGping, Dec 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TGping

TGping Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I have some experience with Sculptey maquettes and a lot of illustration experience. Add that to everything I’ve seen on the Radicons page and I have a solid understanding of how I want this to go.

First I need a concept. In this instance I’m making an armor set for classics Optimus. So I start out with a to scale drawing with at least a couple of different views

Here:
    [​IMG]

After I know what you want, I need to measure and plan for everything, on a separate piece of paper, it’s time to draw transparent and exploded views of everything. Do this especially if you are on a budget :)  [as it] prevents a lot of mistakes from happening.

And before I go further here are some tools I use:
    Jeweler’s saw- handy for cutting metal and styrene.
    Retractable X-Acto cutter- very precise
    Needle nose pliers-you’ll see
    Scissors-cut styrene super easy
    Multiple files- what I use personally for sanding
    Zap-a-gap superglue- my preferred brand
    Insta-set- SAVES A LOT OF TIME
    Small 6-inch metal ruler- must have cork on back.

Alright, [here is] the basis of my building technique: First I draw the shape I want, note the measurements, and draw it as many times as I think I need to build up thickness.

[​IMG]

Now I SCORE everything, not cut. USE A RULER TO GUIDE YOU! Sorry I didn’t use one here, [as it's] very difficult to take pictures with no hands. The cork backed rulers don’t slide as much on styrene. And the metal doesn’t get cut by the blade.

[​IMG]

I then snap the pieces off that I scored. Yes, no cutting :)  I find cutting all the way through messes up my hands pretty bad. I clench. It all snaps off real easy like.

[​IMG]

For really small pieces that need to snap off, I use the needle-nose pliers.

[​IMG]

Here they are!