TF comic help needed...

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by Mechafire, Aug 7, 2008.

1. Mechafire

Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Hey there, so I am just getting into reading the Marvel TF’s, but first I need some questions answered.

1. What is the difference between the US and UK comic?
    2. Who are they written by?
    3. How can you tell the difference between UK and US issues, only being able to see the cover? (ala eBay)
    4. Is GI Joe in the main line TF comics, or just in the GI Joe and TF crossover comic?
    5. Is UK’s comic run longer?
    6. Is Spiderman in both US and UK comics? (I think he was in the third US issue but not sure…)

Thanks for your time.

2. Aernaroth

Aernaroth <b><font color=blue>I voted for Super_Megatron and Veteran

News Credits:
    1) If I recall correctly, the Transformers UK series was published bi-weekly, while the US series was done monthly, and although they'd split the US stories in half sometimes, there's a lot of material in the UK series that was used to supplement the US stuff, and as such, to answer question 5) yes, the UK series is considerably longer, as there are a lot of stories that never made it over the atlantic. That's the biggest difference I can think of.

2) Different issues for both the US and UK series had different writers, but I think Simon Furman has written the most out of any of the authors (not certain though). Check

Generation 1 (Marvel Comics) - Teletraan I: The Transformers Wiki

for more info.

3) The covers on a lot of the issues will be very different from the US and UK versions. I guess the easiest way would be to look at the top left corner for the marvel logo, and see if the price is in US dollars, the UK series didn't have prices in US dollars, I think. The UK series I believe had their prices (in pence, obviously) on the top right hand side of the cover, with no marvel "box" for the first couple issues.