TF animated Ebay theory

Discussion in 'Transformers Animated Discussion' started by ANDROID PRIME, Feb 1, 2008.

1. ANDROID PRIME

ANDROID PRIME Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    ok Im an economic/businiess student. I've always thought that its to bad for hasbro (business wise) that they cant charge collectors who have such a higher demand more money for transformers than they do kids and parents who wouldn't spend over the retail price for a toy. My idea for hasbro was to sell toys online early for a higher price than retail. This would maximize profits for hasbro in two ways. take advantage of demand for toys and when the toys eventually do hit shelves it gives more kids and parents chances to find them becasue they aren't snatched up by collectors.

Now with all the transformers animated toys on ebay for only 10$ higher than their retail price. collectors are happy becasue they get their toys months in advance and kids will be happy when they can actually find the toys they want (unlike the movie line). this seems a little to convienient in my opinion.

my theory is that the reason there are so many animated toys on ebay was intentionaly planned by hasbro to maximize profits by exploiting demand.(witch isn't illegal)

one theory that might explain the fact that hasbro is doing this through ebay instead of their online store is that if they showed the price for their new line of toys as 10-20$ higher than normal it might scare away parents and kids who frequent their site. they know that collectors frequent ebay and that it would be the best place to try this out.

Its just an idea, Any thoughts?

2. Archatron

Archatron Banned

Ebay:
    totally plausible, from someone who bought one. lol Namely me.

3. Primus

Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

News Credits:
    Making $5000 on ebay would be a drop in the hat with retail sales of animated. Would be a waste of time for Hasbro.

4. Backpack

Backpack Scattershot who?