Team fortress 2 help

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by takua, Oct 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. takua

    takua Dude who pops up whenever

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    125
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +1
    I just got the orange box and I'm trying to play team fortress 2 but when I click find Server I don't see any choices. What do I do?
     
  2. Blitz.

    Blitz. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    6,079
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +28
    do you have any filters on?

    is your fire wall allowing it to work properly?

    was steam down for maintenance? (it can happen)

    also how long did you leave it searching? its often not an instant list

    thats all I can think of
     
  3. takua

    takua Dude who pops up whenever

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    125
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +1
    My Firewall is letting it pass.

    Don't think steam is down the now.

    I waited at least 30 mins with no results.
     
  4. Dinobot Nuva

    Dinobot Nuva Johnny 3 Tears Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    7,968
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +15
    Hit refresh, make sure you're on the internet tab when searching for servers. Sometimes it defaults to LAN or Favorites.

    You could also try joining a server from the console if you have the IP address. I'd go with www.uberchaged.net 's second server as its hosted in England, and your profile says you're in the Scotland area.
     
  5. takua

    takua Dude who pops up whenever

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    125
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +1
    Where do you put the IP address?
     
  6. Dinobot Nuva

    Dinobot Nuva Johnny 3 Tears Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    7,968
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +15
    If you have developer console enabled, just press ~ and type in connect followed by the IP.

    You can also search for games from the steam dashboard without even launching the game by clicking the servers button (looks like a globe). Under the favorites tab from there you can add any IP address to your bookmarks by clicking the big ole' "Add a Server" button.
     
  7. takua

    takua Dude who pops up whenever

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    125
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +1
    Still nothing happening.
     
  8. Dinobot Nuva

    Dinobot Nuva Johnny 3 Tears Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    7,968
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +15
    Add me on Steam, my screen name is Scrumptious_Scrub.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page