Taking electronics abroad internationally?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Sixshot, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. Sixshot

    Sixshot Jeff Goldbluman Group

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    3,166
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +1
    Hello all.

    Well it seems that I am moving to Germany, being the American with lots of crap, I've been doing some research on how I can make my electronics work in Germany. I am going to need some step-up/down converters along with some simple plug adapters.

    Specifically wondered about taking my game consoles, should I be able to play online and connect my US 360, Wii, and PS3 online? I've been doing a little research on this, I would probably start shopping at Playasia and import American games.

    Has anyone made the international move and had to deal with the electricity difference?
     
  2. Erector

    Erector I ruined the Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    11,052
    News Credits:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    217
    Likes:
    +21
    You should be able to play online, however remember you'll need to import American games.

    To be honest, depending on how long you're going for, would it be worth selling all your consoles etc. and buying European ones?
     
  3. Sciron

    Sciron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Posts:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Man, I can tell you with moving from the US, to Japan, and now to the UK, you're going to need electricity transformers and plug adapters. If you're going to hook up your systems and a TV up on a transformer, you might want to go with a 3000 watt transformer. Here is a decent link answering some qestions:

    Voltage Converter - Frequently Asked Questions

    For the internet connectivity, you should be good, you'll still connect to the US servers, since that's what your systems are set to, but you can change that. I know all PS3 and Wii games are region free, so EU games will work with US systems, but the 360 is region locked and won't work with EU games. If you have any other questions let me know.
     
  4. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    region locking is a per game thing. its nothing to do with the console itself, most 360 games will work on any console.

    also sorry, but i lol'ed at "Taking electronics abroad internationally"
     
  5. Gigatron_2005

    Gigatron_2005 President of Calendars

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    7,871
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +1
    PS3 games are region free. 360 games depend on the title. And I am positive that the Wii has region locking, but I am not sure if it also depends on the title.



    But since you're in Germany you might have an even more difficult time with the 360 and its games since apparently most games in Germany are specifically are region coded for use in Germany.
     
  6. Sixshot

    Sixshot Jeff Goldbluman Group

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    3,166
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +1
    The biggest thing I worry about is the Hz. I know foreign AC is 50 Hz, while here in America I am used to 60 Hz. I just got a really sweet new TV here that I would like to take there and basically just use as a glorified monitor. I don't want to take it over there though and find out it won't work.
     
  7. Sciron

    Sciron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Posts:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Not sure about the Hz rate in Germany. My TV's and PC monitors work just fine on transformers. Also, one thing you might need is a signal converter for your TV, If you want to watch tv shows. I needed one when I moved to the UK and they can be a bit pricey.
     

Share This Page