Suddenly Microsoft isn't so bad.

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Prowl, Mar 3, 2008.

1. Prowl

Prowl Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    No this has nothing to do with 360.

So as some of you guys know, I edit video for a living (commercials, promos, animation, documenteries of llamatron's balls). Well recently our PC Avid was replaced with a Mac Final Cut pro. Not my choice (but I have never been a PC vs. Mac guy, as I really don't care so long as it gets the job done).

But judging by those PC vs Mac commercials, the Mac is a very reliable system and Microsoft's windows is a faulty piece of turd that has mac users sporting bumper stickers and stalking people at Best Buys to convince them to get macs instead of PCs.

So with an open mind, I go into this migration into macs, and for the most part, I am pleased. Final Cut is a Toy, yet a robust and very workable editor, but my after effects crashes like it's a drunk driver after prom.

Well this morning I am working on a commercial, fully confident in the system I am using, and I make a simple (-see "simple") edit, and BAM, Final Cut crashes with not a warning or reason. I lost an hour work meticulous layering work. Should I have been saving? "Absolutely", but I was so used to Avid doing it on the cool while I was working.

Now I can see some Hybrid-driving, Green-Peace-loving, nerd say "Well if a mac crashed, it must be a user error"... "Nice PR, turd". But if making a simple three-point edit is a user error, then I need to tone down my expectations of what a stable editing software is supposed to do and go back to reel-to-reel.

Rant over....