Customs: Styrene Help

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Jolt Customs, Dec 18, 2010.

1. Jolt Customs

Jolt Customs Seacon

hey so i am working on a huge, HUGE! project and i need help with styrene! (i have had no experience with it :dunce )
    My questions:
    1. What do you attach styrene to something with? (with apoxie or super glue?)
    2. I am wondering if there is anything i need to do to the toy before i add styrene to it.
    3. and lastly how do create pin joints with styrene? do you have to take them from other figures?

Thanks! sorry im a noob when it comes to styrene

2. Anti-Venom

Anti-Venom Well-Known Member

1. I use both. :) 

3. Fishdirt

Fishdirt Tin Toy Transformer

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Superglue. It reacts to bond styrene perfectly and is good for laminating it.

4. Jolt Customs

Jolt Customs Seacon

Thanks! so question one down...now i just need to know 2 and 3

5. Treadshot A1

Treadshot A1 Toy Designer

2. The usual cleaning and prep. Nothig specifically needs to be done for styrene. It's more about following the instructions for your chosen glue, making sure that adheres.

3. Use a Pin vise (aka Hand Drill). Personally would recommend you just take them from elsewhere, generally easier and cheaper.

6. Zildjian

Zildjian Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    If you have no experience with using styrene at all, my advice would be to stop what you are doing and do a thorough google search on building/working with styrene. The stuff is not cheap and to be successful working with it..... research and learning is 90% of the game.

7. Fishdirt

Fishdirt Tin Toy Transformer

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    I get it cheap. Dollar a sign at wal mart. If you don't want the paint, clean it off. Want it thicker then just glue sheets together after cutting. At least go that route for practicing.

Styrene rods and tubes are nice for making scratch hinges but I see the more experienced guys using door hinges and such.