Stuck paint bottles

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by cyclonus8, Oct 2, 2012.

1. cyclonus8

cyclonus8 Well-Known Member

I've been using hobby paints for about 15 years now, but I still have the same issue. If I don't use a bottle for a week or so, I can't get it open again. Most of the time, I use hot water to heat up it up, put on rubber gloves for a good grip, then twist. This works about 75% of the time. The other 25% I rip off a good chunk of skin like I did just now to no avail. Do you guys have any tricks you would like to share?

2. frenzyrumble

frenzyrumble Banned

News Credits:
    put the paint jar upside-down on your work table. get a medium to heavy brush , load it up with lacquer thinner, drip it into the lid from the underneath, allow it to drip into the lid's threads. Let it sit for 3 minutes. lid will come right off.

3. Treadshot A1

Treadshot A1 Toy Designer

*looks at hand*

*sees the carnage*

So that's how you get those bottle open....couldn't you have told me that, like, a few days ago, FR? Before I tried to open that bottle of clear green? :lol 

I still use GW paints since they come in jars with a flip-open lid. :D 

4. hXcpunk23

hXcpunk23 The Chaos Bringer

Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Instagram:
    I've only ever had a couple that were so insanely tight that I needed to use my Leatherman Wave multi-tool. I opened up the pliers, gripped the lids, applied pressure, & twisted them off. Once I had them off, I cleaned up the area where the paint had dried onto the lid, then got back to work. Only down side is they did it again. No other bottles have had an issue this bad, but then again, these were Testors paints & once that cap liner goes to crap, most lids will stick like hell.