Stress marks

Discussion in 'Transformers 3rd Party Discussion' started by MasterScale, Mar 18, 2017.

1. MasterScale

MasterScale Well-Known Member

So I recently got my first 3rd party figure, and while I love it, one of the transformation joints has a stress mark. And I've only transformed him from alt to bot twice.

What I'm wondering is if stress marks mean the part will break soon, and how normal plastic stress is. I'm new to collecting, so pardon the stress. No pun intended. Really.

*mods - I saw a thread about this same topic, but it was from 2012, and the last post was from 2015, so I figured that a new one was okay. Move this or let me know if it is an issue :) 

2. Honesty

Honesty honestly, Honesty!

Well, depending on the stress mark (how worn/stressed it is), you may be okay forever by just being a wee bit more careful the next times if you decide to transform again.

If it is pretty worn, and the joint/piece/item is detachable (either by a screw or a ball joint), you can take the item off and use a hair dryer on it or use boiling water I hear. (Someone correct me if I am wrong please).

EDIT: what figure is it, if you don't mind me asking?

3. Devastator21

Devastator21 Fanstoys zombie

News Credits:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    what fig is it

4. Snaku

Snaku Well-Known Member

I'm pretty sure that heating to remove a stress mark doesn't heal the strength of the plastic. It just makes the mark go away.

Unfortunately, I don't think there's enough information here to give you a real answer. A stress mark just shows that the plastic has been stretched. Though it is correct that a part that is about to break may show signs or stress, a stress mark doesn't necessarily indicate that a breakage is imminent. Some more brittle plastics may break with no stress marks at all while some more flexible plastics may mark and never break.

• Like Like x 3
  5. PrimalPrime007

PrimalPrime007 Well-Known Member