So do vendors really jack up the prices of Tfs at BOTCONs?

Discussion in 'Transformers Conventions and Get Togethers' started by BigRC83, May 1, 2009.

1. BigRC83

BigRC83 I'm singing in the rain

News Credits:
    So do vendors jack up the prices of Tfs at BOTCONs?

Just wondering.

2. Sidecutter

Sidecutter Evil Dealer Scum TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    I honestly can't speak for anyone else, but I personally do not raise my prices for the convention.

Honestly, in my experience this is something of a myth, and I've been attending since 1999, even before I was going as a dealer.

3. xZAOx

xZAOx Yep.

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    I wouldn't say they do. The current items, including imports, always seem the same to me.

As for the g1 stuff, there's not really many big online vintage dealers that also set up show at BotCon. The g1 stuff there the past couple of years have been overpriced, and that's compared to eBay which is expensive compared to the forums as-is.

Hopefully being on the west coast though, hopefully we get some fresh dealers and fresh items, at reasonable prices (for vintage stuff).

4. transformers32

transformers32 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I really didnt notice many price hikes up at last years botcon. I do hope i can catch some good deals this year also. But i would say for the G1 stuff around ebay prices maybe a little more.

5. megamus

megamus Overworked and Underpaid Veteran

News Credits:
    I've never noticed a markup on vintage per say but I do notice that certain dealers tend to have their stuff priced higher than say I would have or that others are selling for. My best piece of advice is look around first but if it's something you have been looking for or if you think it's a great deal, you might want to jump on it. I do know that the best deals go quickly and I mean QUICKLY. Usually at the Friday early bird preview, well worth it IMO.

6. BigRC83

News Credits: