Silver / Gold Leafing ?

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by frenzyrumble, Aug 8, 2007.

1. frenzyrumble

frenzyrumble Banned

News Credits:
    I worked in the sign industry for a many years.

We regularly added gold or silver leaf to signs, because the finish is unmatchable. If the base is smooth enough, it's the closest you can come to chrome...VERY shiny

It's an easy process as well. I think eventually, I will make a tutorial how the process works.

I am wondering has anyone tried this yet? and if so, how were your results?
    Local art stores (even Michael's) carry small leafing kits, and they aren't too expensive. End result = you have REAL silver or gold, and an incredible finish that is very very durable and long lasting.

[​IMG]

2. Monkey-Hands

Monkey-Hands Turntablist

I only have seen people eating that stuff or drinking it in Champagne. But that´s a really cool idea to get a superb chrome look. :D 

3. Boggs6ft7

Boggs6ft7 TFW2005 Supporter

I've used something similar for parts that are fairly flat and not a lot of recesses.

I wanted to use some on my Classics Optmius' grill. I ran into a problem of getting it into all the recesses without it tearing.

4. Superquad7

Superquad7 We're only human. Super Mod

News Credits:
    *chants* HOW TO! HOW TO!

5. AutobotSDG

AutobotSDG Well-Known Member

Yeah I tried it a few years back... I don't think I had the touch because it just would not cooperate with me. It kept flaking before I could even get it on the item I was trying to "chrome" and when I would try to put it down and smooth it out it would stick more to my fingers or the tools. It ended up being very messy.

So please, a tutorial would be nice. A video tutorial would be even better.

6. JinSaotome

JinSaotome Banned

Ebay: