Should we create a Google Map of toy build-ups?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by bellpeppers, Sep 17, 2012.

1. bellpeppers

bellpeppers A Meat Popsicle

News Credits:
    There's always gonna be topics and posts about shelf warmers.

However, declarations of shelf warming of an entire line is usually based on what someone sees in their own store (guilty of that one myself) instead of looking at it region by region.

Inspired by a Google map of the Walking Dead, I thought it might be an idea to make a Google map showing where new stuff is sighted and where other stuff builds up.

Or would this be too much of an undertaking? I personally wouldn't even know how to go about such a thing.

2. ryan.j

ryan.j Well-Known Member

Not all that hard tbh. I make websites and whatnot for a living, but am mainly just a JavaScript engineer, so my backend-fu is weak.

Could probably hash something together over a weekend if I find time, or better still, somebody builds me a backend that spits out JSON with the map data and I just write the code to integrate the google maps API.

3. UltimusPrime

UltimusPrime Banned

News Credits:
    Sounds like a great idea.

4. ryan.j

ryan.j Well-Known Member

Its really easy tbh. if TFW mods are cool with it we could build it out as a feature of the site - tied to our login credentials and stuff so people can't just spam the shit out of it. In all seriousness, if people didn't abuse it it'd be a really good site feature. If i wasn't super busy i'd crank one out and put a few ads on it for a few quid of passive income a month :p