ShockWave

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by ZooCrazie, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. ZooCrazie

    ZooCrazie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    ok here is the first item out of a whole box I got for $30. 80's Shockwave !! Can anyone tell what is missing? And where I could possible find the missing parts? Also just by looking at the pictures what condition would yall say he was in?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. havanowoncheese

    havanowoncheese Proud No Ma'amer!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    2,934
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    Looks to me like he is just missing the pistol mode barel that goes over the arms. Can prolly find one on ebay.

    That said he looks like he is in pretty decent shape and worth the 30 you paid for the box.
     
  3. AutobotMaximal

    AutobotMaximal Becoming vintage, day by day

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Posts:
    730
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +1
    Looks decent. I'm surprised at the shape the D-con symbol is in. It could be a repro-label. You're missing the piece that fits on the end in gun mode.
     
  4. Alucard77

    Alucard77 Kaon Gladiator Champion

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    17,633
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +4
    I think that may be the KO. The cable looks a little short to me. I could be wrong. But as mentioned your missing the grey barrel.
     
  5. ZooCrazie

    ZooCrazie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:


    WoW just checked it out on EBAY and that little plastic Barrel is a whooping $27.99. Is that over priced or reasonable?

    Alucar77: you mentioned a KO?? what is that?
     
  6. havanowoncheese

    havanowoncheese Proud No Ma'amer!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    2,934
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    knockoff. There is a high quality g1 Shockwave ko but if i recall like other high quality kos you can only tell by the box not so much the figure its self.
     
  7. Alucard77

    Alucard77 Kaon Gladiator Champion

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    17,633
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +4
    Actually with the KO for Shockwave the Plastic Hose is actually shorter then on the original one. That is the give a way on it.

    I have the KO, and to be honest, it is better then the original minus the whole plastic hose thing.
     
  8. ZooCrazie

    ZooCrazie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Where was Shockwave made at? The original one. The guy I bought this box from said that it belonged to a cousin of his and the box itself had been sitting in the attic for like 20 years. Told me that he was gonna have a yard sale and knew that I was a colllector and give me first dibs.
     
  9. havanowoncheese

    havanowoncheese Proud No Ma'amer!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    2,934
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    Well in that case it prolly is not a ko Shockwave
     
  10. Papasmoak

    Papasmoak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    Hmm black screws?.....looks like a legit Shocky to me.
     
  11. Alucard77

    Alucard77 Kaon Gladiator Champion

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    17,633
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +4
    True, the black screws.

    BTW, you can actually pull the legs apart. It doesn't seem like you can, but you can. If you nudge them slowly they will come apart and actually sit correctly. If they don't move, you can always use some WD-40. I ended up needing to do that on mine.

    That Shockwave is an awesome figure for his time!

    BTW, this is what my shocky is doing (also you can see the transformation)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Tripredacus

    Tripredacus K-Mart-ian Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,342
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +4
    Incidentally, you have the rarest peice already there, the battery cover. The barrel shouldn't be costing too much, I wouldn't pay more than $4 for it tbh. Check transformerland or Wheeljack's Lab on ebay.

    And you can tell your hose is cracked in the one photo.
     
  13. Alucard77

    Alucard77 Kaon Gladiator Champion

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    17,633
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +4
    Also check the B/S/T in here. Some of the Junk sections should have it listed.

    Also, Transformers land rules!
     
  14. justamaze

    justamaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,434
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +1
    Great find
     
  15. ZooCrazie

    ZooCrazie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Alucard77 : in your photo who are those little guys under your Shockwave? I pretty sure that towards the bottom of this Magical box I have purchased I have the same toys!

    And another question. Shockwave chest is it supposed to light up in anyway? I put a battery in and the gun lights up and all the sounds sound perfect , but as far as his chest it does nothing. Looks like it should do somthing but im not sure
     
  16. Alucard77

    Alucard77 Kaon Gladiator Champion

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    17,633
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +4
    Those guys are the Insecticons. Dude you got a great find if they are in there too!

    As for the chest. It doesn't do anything. So nothing is broken on yours, no worries.
     
  17. ZooCrazie

    ZooCrazie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    oh yeah it diffently was a great find. and for only 30 dollars !!! a whole box full of G1 toys !! Makes me excited just thinking about it. Stay tuned I will be posting a lot more as I go through the box checking out the toys and ldentifying them and looking for lost parts !!
     
  18. Timesynch

    Timesynch Go For Broke!

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    16,948
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    Likes:
    +110
    Nice display, dude! Is that the oversized G1 Soundwave KO? And really digging how Rumble and Frenzy are looking there! Makes me glad I grabbed an Encore #19 cassettecon box set along with the Crazy Devy parts for them. Hella pricy but I think together they're much cooler in appearance than the PE or United versions of the characters.

    I'm sure I'm not alone in wanting a third party to make and sell an updated Shocky for the masses. But the original G1 Shockwave (which I never owned) is pretty darn cool in its own right, if the WST version of him (which I do have) is any indication (I love that little guy!).
     
  19. EightiesKid

    EightiesKid G1 archivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    2,470
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +24
    That is a heck of a find at $30, and if the electronics still work on Shockwave that is awesome. My Shockwave's electronics stopped working a long time ago. I got a KO Shockwave recently, and I am very impressed with him.
     
  20. EightiesKid

    EightiesKid G1 archivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    2,470
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +24
    I'm a HUGE Shockwave fan and would LOVE to see an updated version. Hasbro had plans to make an updated G1 Shockwave in the Titanium line a few years back, but the line was cancelled before they got to Shockwave. Since then I haven't heard of any plans to release a new version of Shockwave. The only version we've had is the DOTM movie version which is okay, but I would love a G1 update, be it third party or Hastak.
     

Share This Page