Sharp Aquos 32"?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by dmc2008, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. dmc2008

    dmc2008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Posts:
    1,548
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    142
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Likes:
    +40
    For my first HDTV, I'm thinking about getting this:

    Sharp LC-32D64U

    I understand it's the newer version of the 32" model that was aimed at gamers. This one doesn't have the special button for gamemode, but 6ms is pretty good right?
    If any tech friendly people have feedback on this TV (or similar TVs), comments would be appreciated.
    I will be using it mostly for gaming (Wii, PS3) and movies (DVD, Blu-Ray) but does it pick up a digital signal right out of the box? What kinds of channels am I expected to see without having cable or satelitte service?
    And lastly, is it worth upgrading my PS3 from a component cable to HDMI?

    Thanks everyone and wish me luck!!
     
  2. Zeta Otaku

    Zeta Otaku Who ya gonna call? TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    2,101
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    I've got the 52" sharp aquos... I can say nothing bad about it or the brand. go for it.
     
  3. optimus kimchee

    optimus kimchee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Posts:
    1,126
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    It's a good TV and if it's your first HDTV then you will drool at the bump in resolution, clarity and detail!

    6ms is the average refresh rate from most HDTVs now a days. You might see some "ghosting" or "trails" in the faster action games and scenes. Anything not 2ms or lower you will see those effects.

    Yes almost all HDTVs have built in digital signal tuners, so you will get your basic cable and any free HDTV signal channels after you run the channel search on it.

    You might get stuff like FOX & FOX HD, ESPN & ESPN HD, Discovery & Dicovery HD, mostly sports and the more popular networks.

    HDMI is 100% pure digital & audio feed! Yes get a 24k gold plated 6" or shorter cord! You will notice a difference if you have an eye for it!

    Composite and Component cables break down the video & audio signals and reassemble them back in your TV, HDMI is sent as 100% pure digital signal!

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,318
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    whatever you do though, don't get suckered into buying $50+ cables for it, no matter where you are. there's no reason for digital cables (hdmi, optical, and others) to be more than $20 for a set. it's a big ripoff perpetuated by best buy and manufacturers like monster to make you believe you're getting more for your money when you buy something like a $200 set of component or hdmi cables.
     
  5. optimus kimchee

    optimus kimchee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Posts:
    1,126
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    Meh, you get what you pay for.

    Get a six foot $20 copper wire HDMI cable with normal rubber insulation and you get distortion in video & audio.

    Get a $60 six foot HDMI with 24k gold contacts and better insulation, less distortion.

    Also, always run your cords the same run tied together! Once you let them cross with a poor covering the cross wires will distort your signals.

    Don't belive me ask anyone who installs car audio or home theater system... they always run the cables/cords tied together as one run.

    Insulation, connection and the way you run your cords makes a huge difference between clarity or distortion.

    Then again I am anal about such things cause I am the type of person who wants it done right for the best experience possible, lol.
     
  6. atlianz

    atlianz TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,666
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
  7. Sixshot

    Sixshot Jeff Goldbluman Group

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    3,166
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +1
  8. dmc2008

    dmc2008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Posts:
    1,548
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    142
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Likes:
    +40
    Thanks for all the comments, guys!

    I'll have to order one of those HDMI cables..
    Can't wait to finally see my PS3 the way it was meant to be! :drool: 
     
  9. Zathras

    Zathras Vive le Quebec Libre

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,764
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +4
    The Sharp Aquos 32" is the one I have... and i'm very satisfied with it. This was the only 32" model i found with 1080p resolution.

    good buy
     
  10. Nightwind

    Nightwind Aka Dusty Bottoms.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Posts:
    5,495
    Trophy Points:
    192
    Likes:
    +14
    We use that exact model in the training rooms where I work and I can say that I think you've made a very good choice! It's a great looking TV in terms of style. The HD picture with y/pr/pb cabling is actually very nice but I have noticed a positive (but minor, IMO) difference when using HDMI cables. Since it's not a huge screen size, you won't notice the SD "fuzziness" that you get with the larger sets as much either. Good luck on the purchase!
     
  11. jorod74

    jorod74 Psycholagnist (Ret.)

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7,559
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    i am soooo wanting to use it to replace my old RCA 27" behemoth and my PC monitor at the same time.

    but ya know, i want the one on the right...
    [​IMG]
    (Panasonic, 150 inch and not yet available, darn it.)

    even i can read my emails from my couch with that, lol.
    good luck with the Aquos!
     
  12. Lord Of Tetris

    Lord Of Tetris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    3,403
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +6

    I was under the impression that an HDMI cable either works perfectly, or it does not work at all. I don't encourage buying the cheapest, crappiest cables out there, but I also discourage buying those $50 cables.
     
  13. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,645
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,514
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Hmm. I can get Sharp Aquos quite cheap, cheaper now because of the sales. I might look into these.

    How do they compare to Samsungs?
     
  14. dmc2008

    dmc2008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Posts:
    1,548
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    142
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Likes:
    +40
    Got it yesterday... LOVING it!
    I have basic cable coming in through a coax... The channels don't look as good as my old TV (3-4 year old Samsung CRT) and some of them are very fuzzy. I understand this is because an Analog channel does not convert very well to this digital display. I scanned the channels and lo and behold have found all the major networks' HD channels and a few others (USA, Universal HD) AND a ton of digital channels where I can see what people are watching on demand! Not sure how this is working, and the channels fluctuate, but its pretty cool nonetheless.
    Am I to understand that my cable stations will look a lot better once we switch over to DTV in February? Cause that would be awesome.
    I am blown away by the PS3 on this TV. My only issue is DVDs don't look as sharp as I expected... The output is listed as 480p. Is my TV upscaling automatically, or am I going to notice a big difference if I purchase an HDMI cable? Cause Blu-Ray looks AMAZING already.
    Anyways, thanks for the suggestions!... off to stare at this thing of beauty some more!
     
  15. optimus kimchee

    optimus kimchee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Posts:
    1,126
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    If your using an older DVD player then yes your going to run 480p. Chances are your old DVD player is also a composite output.

    You can snag a 720p progressive scan DVD player from Best Buy now a days for around $100 with HDMI output :) 

    Enjoy and have fun with your new HDTV!
     
  16. b_ack51

    b_ack51 I'm on the interweb!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Posts:
    932
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Why spend $100 on a dvd player when the PS3 does a great job upscaling DVDs.
     
  17. dmc2008

    dmc2008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Posts:
    1,548
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    142
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Likes:
    +40
    Yeah, that's how I play DVDs anyways. I got a Philips HDMI cable at Walmart for $30 (gotta love instant gratification). Everything looks amazing.
    Seriously, even with upscaling I can really tell the difference between DVDs and Blu-Rays. Obviously this is because I live in a rowhouse and sit two to three feet from my TV. The further you are from the screen, the harder it is to see the "fuzzies" of DVDs or regular television programming.
    But up close.. man, I need to replace some movies with Blu-Rays. Transformers and Lord of the Rings, I'm looking at you!

    Also I have noticed one or two "stuck pixels" which don't bother me too much but I'm wondering if they're fixable. I've read online that I should return the TV under warranty, or even try "softly poking" the screen. Well that's going a bit too far, I think... I heard of software you can run to try and correct this on LCD monitors. Does such a thing exist for LCD TVs?
     

Share This Page