Customs: Sealing acrylic paint.

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by SonRay, Nov 23, 2007.

1. SonRay

SonRay Banned

I am not very experienced with acrylics as i tend to try to avoid them but for my latest project i had no choice but to use them.

Now i applied the acrylic onto a base coat of cellulose car paint, i put it on with an airbrush a bit thick to get a nice glossy finish.

This was a couple of days ago and while the paint is dry i wouldn't trust it fully for another 5 or 6 days under some heat as it still seems soft enough to the point where you can put finger prints into it if you are not careful.

Now once the acrylic has dried hard what would be the best thing to put over it to seal it or protect it against chipping?
    Now usually i would just go back to some good old fashioned car lacquer, but since this is acrylics were talking about i cant really do that.
    I have heard that floor polish works, but the main brand that people who work with acrylics on a regular basis seem to use (future floor polish) isnt available in this country i dont think. Would normal floor polish work, and how do you apply it? By hand or does it come in a spray can?

If this isn't the best thing to use to seal it what is? I want to make sure this acrylic-project doesn't turn out like my last one, which is the main reason i try to avoid touching acrylics. They chipped off the plastic as soon as i tried transforming the figure and i really want to avoid that this time around so i want to know what the best product is to seal the paint and make it as durable as possible.

Thanks for any help.

2. frenzyrumble

frenzyrumble Banned

News Credits:
    I'd try ebay for the floor polish.

*General rule when painting, clear coat acrylics with enamels, and visa versa.

3. TonyzCustomz

TonyzCustomz TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Krylon clear or floor polish are the best bets.

4. frenzyrumble

frenzyrumble Banned

News Credits: