ROTF Whirl question...

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Magnus1701, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. Magnus1701

    Magnus1701 Dih Hayud 1st

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Posts:
    519
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Hey guys I just bought the TRU ROTF Whirl vs Bludgeon 2-pack and immediately noticed a couple problems with Whirl:

    One of his chopper blades is super-loose and flails all over the place, and the propeller assembly itself doesn't fully rotate down for the spinning weapon mode.

    Has anyone else had these problems and/or know how to fix them?

    I'd just take him back and return him but I live 2.5 hours from the TRU I bought him from.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Barricade24

    Barricade24 Decepticop Artist

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    4,942
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +17
    Well I have Whirl too he has parts that are bit loose for me it's his cargo bin and the arm things.

    But I beside that I never really had any problems.

    I think that Whirl is just a slightly loose figure but if the problems really bother you then return it.
     
  3. Renidragon

    Renidragon Toys on my table!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +3
    Could very well be mold degradation (already?)... even my TF07 Evac had some loose bits. My Blackout (original release) is fine though.
     
  4. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    It's most likely mold degradation. After all, they have used that mold quite a bit.

    My Whirl as a few QC issues as well, but nothing too bad.
     
  5. BigPhill

    BigPhill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Posts:
    3,312
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    YouTube:
    It's definatly degradation. My Whirl had a bad tab on the cage that holds the life-raft in, and it opens if there's a light gust of wind.
     
  6. Satomiblood

    Satomiblood Prototype Black

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    19,337
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +4
    Blackout, Prem. Blackout, Evac, Grindor, Whirl.

    Yep.
     
  7. Magnus1701

    Magnus1701 Dih Hayud 1st

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Posts:
    519
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Thanks for the input guys.

    It's not a huge deal. Just a little annoying that I can't use the rotation gimmick well.

    I usually just display them in bot mode anyway.
     
  8. Sammael

    Sammael MightyMegatron from ATT TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    3,166
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Likes:
    +45
    Nope, not mold degradation. I have the same problem with my original 2007 Blackout.
     
  9. ectoneon

    ectoneon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,489
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Strange my 07 blackout is still pretty solid. But this thread makes me glad I went with my gut and passed on Grindor. This is the kind of thing I was worried about.
     
  10. Blot

    Blot Terrorcon

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,422
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +35
    I've got regular Blackout, Evac, and Grindor. Blackout has a loose scorponok cage, Evac has loose legs in vehicle mode, and Grindor has no problems, lol.
     
  11. Username1

    Username1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Likes:
    +0
    i have similar problems like the loose blades on my Grindor
     

Share This Page