Restorations. Hurt value or improve value?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by curlrup, Mar 13, 2012.

1. curlrup

curlrup Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I just moved into a home that for the first time ever has space for me to have a collection room. Finally my 300+ bots are on display. I was however, disappointed when I pulled out my 100% complete G1 Metroplex to find he had yellowed. As did my G1 Wheeljack, and G1 Slingshot. So I did some searching on bleaching plastic. Turns out you can use a lovely peroxide solution to bleach the yellow from white plastic.
    Here is my plan and my question. I am a professional Model Maker. I get paid to make models and prototypes of different things. I have built prototypes for Proctor and Gamble, SC Johnson Wax, Honda, Nike, Scotts Lawn care and Zebco fishing reels to name a few. Everything from photo realistic models for photo shoots to working photo realistic prototypes. I now work for a government agency and make whatever they need. Again prototypes, and/or scale models. I can laser scan, 3D print, cast urethane, machine, chrome plastic (Cosmi Chrome, Google it.) paint, 3D model in CAD software, and make new graphics although Reprolabels does a remarkable job. I can do all of this at or from (I know people) my home studio. I plan on practicing a restoration on this guy.
    [​IMG]