Customs: Restoration Question

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by RyakinX, Nov 7, 2007.

1. RyakinX

RyakinX Well-Known Member

Hey guys,

New kid on the block here, I'm attempting my first restoration, just happens to be a Blaster. The previous owner kinda went crazy with some random stickers, so it has sticker residue all over it. Now I've been researching in the threads how to restore transformers for the past few weeks before I get started, and everybody says 91% rubbing alcohol to clean transformers. I have extensive experience with using this to clean electronics and such, but every time I've used it, it has left a white haze or film behind. How do you deal with this left over from the rubbing alcohol.

Thanks for your help guys

2. Delta Star

Delta Star <b>Reprolabels.com</b> TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    I've never witnessed this effect myself.

3. Draven

Draven Banned

News Credits:
    Try lighter fluid. I've used Delta's Reprolabels on a LOT of TFs, and I've removed the original stickers from every single one of them using it. Gets the sticker residue off, and evaporates really quickly without leaving a mark on the toy at all.

4. MegaMoonMan

MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    I always use goo-gone, it's a bit oily and messy, but it does the job. I usually wash the figure afterwards to get it and other dirt off.

5. RyakinX

Lighter fluid or goo-gone hmm didn't think of these thanks for the help guys

6. Delta Star

News Credits:
    I use Goo-gone too. Now THAT will cloud up your clear plastic. Keep Goo-gone away from clear plastic, painted plastic and chromed areas.

7. Thundercracker

Thundercracker Contemptuous

Never use rubbing alcohol on clear plastic. It will cause it to haze and become brittle. I've always used a bumper sticker remover solvent that can be found at automotive parts stores.

8. SureShot90

SureShot90 Peace=superior firepower

Ebay: