Recording with a mac

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Ironhide2005, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. Ironhide2005

    Ironhide2005 PS3tag=DeaDPooLTFW

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5,390
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    I do some voice work and was wondering if anyone could help me because I have no clue how to record with a mac. Any help is appricated!
     
  2. Ironhide2005

    Ironhide2005 PS3tag=DeaDPooLTFW

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5,390
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    Would using audacity corrupt my mac?
     
  3. GogDog

    GogDog Logic's wayward son Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    12,203
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    246
    Likes:
    +6
    Do you have Garageband?
     
  4. Ironhide2005

    Ironhide2005 PS3tag=DeaDPooLTFW

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5,390
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    Yes.
     
  5. GogDog

    GogDog Logic's wayward son Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    12,203
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    246
    Likes:
    +6
    Then that's all you need. Or did you need something specific beyond that?
     
  6. Ironhide2005

    Ironhide2005 PS3tag=DeaDPooLTFW

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5,390
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    Not really I'm just not crazy about using garageband and wanted too know of other options
     
  7. Sage o' G-fruit

    Sage o' G-fruit Critics gonna critique

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    7,108
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +11
    Same. Garageband isn't stellar IMO.
     
  8. GogDog

    GogDog Logic's wayward son Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    12,203
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    246
    Likes:
    +6
    Well, if, as you stated earlier that you "have no idea how to record audio with a Mac," then you probably haven't really given it much of a shot. Garageband is far from professional, but if you just need to record your voice, you really don't need more than that. When I don't have access to my PC, I use it for recording the podcast, and Vangelus uses it every week for most of the over 2 years we have done it. So if you just need to record audio, it will do. I'm just getting from you that you don't know that much about recording audio period, or am I wrong? If that's the case, then I would search for recording and audio editing tutorials.

    If you are familiar with Audacity, it is available on the mac. Recording audio on a Mac is not really any different from doing it on the PC. You have an input device, you record, and you save it to a folder.
     
  9. Scarecrow

    Scarecrow Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Posts:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    You can in iMovie, but it has to be over video. I'm not much of a mac guy, sorry I couldn't help more.
     
  10. Ironhide2005

    Ironhide2005 PS3tag=DeaDPooLTFW

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5,390
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    Well I really don't have much experiance outside of audacity but I think that is what I will end up doing. Thanks everyone for the help.
     

Share This Page