really OT, but ... did anyone go to Target on Black Friday?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by e3nine, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. e3nine

    e3nine Poop.

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    3,875
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +7
    Did you grab that Olevia 37" for $549?

    I froze my can off in 15 degree weather for the HDTV on Black Friday. At $549, it was a great deal.

    When I set it up, I noticed it had an extra, undisclosed HDMI port bringing the total to 2. The Olevia website made no mention of this. Sweet.

    I powered up my PS3 for the first time in months yesterday and had to reconfigure the settings. The PS3 picked up a 1080p enabled monitor.


    PS3 auto detect
    [​IMG]

    and it sticks
    [​IMG]

    360 setup
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The TV fully recognizes the output. If it didn't, the screen should go black. That's what happened on my old set when I tried 1080p.

    The TV's carton, Olevia website, and Target.com made no mention of this. For the past 2 weeks, I was under the assumption this was a 720p set. Is this thing really a 1080p?!
     
  2. jdre_124

    jdre_124 Super Dick

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3,431
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +3
    I don't know nor really care but that's hot.
     
  3. 03Mach1

    03Mach1 Reason Has No Voice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,268
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +26
    Ebay:
    Odd for sure, but it looks to be the case. There is no reason the tv would have that display setting if it wasn't capable. And as you said, the source would be outputting at 1080p and if the monitor wasn't able to display the resolution, the screen would be black or fuzzy. Forgive my ignorance, but does Olevia even make a 1080p display?
     
  4. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Maybe it isn't really displaying 1080p and is natively downgrading the signal to 1080i or even lower?

    A lot of HDTVs will do that. They SUPPORT a certain resolution, but they can't actually DISPLAY said resolution.

    Unless it implicitly states on the box that it can display at 1080p resolution, I'm betting it's faking it.

    EDIT: From what I've read of that model, it physically displays at/up to 720p, no way it's displaying at 1080p. Remember, what it can support =/= what it can display.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2007
  5. Darkravager

    Darkravager Zombie Hunter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,293
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +1
    I have a 32' Olevia, and it can pick up 1080p from my PS3 as well. I kinda wondered about it as well.
     
  6. Dark Magnus

    Dark Magnus Your opinion is wrong!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Posts:
    6,637
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Man I so wanted one of those but didn't have the scratch. We pre-loaded the TVs into shopping carts to make it easier for guests, all 27 were gone within 15 minutes of the store opening, or so I was told.
     

Share This Page