Customs: ready to start but very overwhelmed!

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by deathonacracker, Jul 21, 2009.

1. deathonacracker

deathonacracker Decepticrumb

Ebay:
    Hey Radicons, another newbie here. life long artist but I've never worked with customizing Transformers ever. I've never even seriously painted a model car! Maybe a couple as a child but i didn't know anything about clear coats and base coats (and still really don't!)
    i have painted plenty of Horizon superhero models and that's what gave me the bug to start trying my hand a modding and painting TFs. I mean they are really models that you can literally transform into another model! They are also really bad ass... oh, and addicting!

I've been lurking on these threads for the past 6 months looking into the different paints, tools and techniques i can use to start creating my own customs for my ever growing TF collection. I just look at them and see all the little details that are lost do to the lack of paint apps.It really tends to bother me knowing i could change all that with my own personal touches. I've got pages and pages of suggestions on where to get these different materials and and now I'm confident enough to order what i need to begin customizing, yet I'm very overwhelmed!

and here is question #1.

I was wondering if there is a certain place online to get all of the materials at once, or at least all of the different paints instead of, 1 type of paint here, 3 types on another site and clear coat at yet another? is there a nice little list of items or paint names/codes, for lets say, Bumblebee that someone may use that i could get to order from? I'm sure it really depends on what colors you want to use etc. so here is my short list of bots I'm planning on repainting/modding to start learning. all ROTF figures so far but i plan on repainting my G1 Devastator eventually and my MP prime.

Ravage: (seems the easiest to take apart and mod).