Customs: Rapid Prototyping

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by ArmouredLlama, Dec 2, 2006.

1. ArmouredLlama

ArmouredLlama Active Member

Has anyone got any experience with using rapid prototyping / 3D printing for creating their own customs?

-What software do you use?

-What file format do you export into?

-What rapid prototyping method do you use? sintering / CNC / whatever?

-How much tolerance do you put into plugholes and tabs and whatever else on the parts?

-How did you come up with your transformation mechanics in the first place? (Assuming you've designed your own complete TF)

-What's the best way to get the individual components produced ... 40-odd separate pieces or one-two super-complex parts with all the itty bits on a sprue?

2. Dark_Convoy

Dark_Convoy Old Bastard Veteran

All I know is it's VERY expensive.

3. AutobotEngineer

AutobotEngineer Highly Dubious

I've used a 3D printer...I'm a mechanical engineer. I have access to a 3 million dollar, unlimited geometry sintering system. But it's 3 million dollar.

The products I proto end up quite strong, becuase the starch used can be impregnated with ABS/nylon/polypropelene/certain rubbers to change its mechanical properties...I can rapid prototype a shock boot or a hing, something felxible or rigid.

You need a 3D model, and usually a step file. I use ProE, Inventor 9/10/11, and Ansys Workbench 10.

Rapid prototyping really isn't at the "do it yourself" stage yet....maybe in a few years.

4. ArmouredLlama

Thanks AutobotEngineer - that's a fantastic start.
    Knowing there are polymers that can be added to sintering starch is a huge help ... was starting to wonder if the finished compound (described on one site as 'plasterish') would be strong enough for producing a TF toy.