Quitting smoking with Chantix

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LamboTwinLove, Jun 8, 2012.

1. LamboTwinLove

LamboTwinLove Lambo Assassin

Hello everyone!

I am officially trying to quit smoking and using chantix to help me with that. I know it' not going to be easy but it will be worth it to quit.

I took the first Chantix pill this morning and so far I'm feeling good. No side effects yet. So I was thinking maybe I should start a thread to document my experience with chantix. It might help other who might think the drug will help them as well. And it will also give me some support while I go through this.

So I will try to update this thread daily on how I'm doing and what's going on and talk about Chantix if anyone wants to know about it.

Now I won't talk the drug up because I am not a doctor but I can tell you the basics of it. It's a 12 week program. You get the first 4 weeks as one perscription. I was told that most patients quit within the 4 week and don't need to continue on with the other 8 weeks.

We shall see how I do!! Updates will be added to this post to keep them in order.

Day 1 Friday June 8th:
    First pill taken after arriving at work at about 8:30. Went the whole day feeling a little tired but think this was due to work being extremely slow. When I did have something to do I felt good. No side effects to report. Drove home from work (35-40 min drive) Usually smoke 2 cigarettes on the way home. Smoked none! Will see tomorrow how things go!

Day 2 Saturday June 9th:
    Second pill taken in the am. The first 3 days of treatment you take one pill a day. Mosquito flew at me in the kitchen and I swatted at it. Mom thought I was hallucinating till I found the stupid bug. Thought that was kinda funny. Still feeling good. Last night I did not have any unusual dreams or night terrors which is a side effect of this drug. Though I'm not too worried about it. I am used to have nightmares about zombies so I'm thinking I should be okay.