Quicktime help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ruination04, May 25, 2007.

  1. Ruination04

    Ruination04 8 Years Old Since 1984!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    6,111
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +5
    Ebay:
    When I start my computer, I get a Quicktime icon pop up in my system tray/notifiction area. Problem is, I don't have Quicktime installed on my PC. At least it's not on my list of programs in my control panel. Think I used to, but I unistalled it. How I do get rid of that thing? I always right click and choose close Quicktime, but I don't want it to pop up at all.
     
  2. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Tech Support is only for board problems, not your general PC woes.

    Moved to GD.
     
  3. Methos

    Methos ...Hail Megatron

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Posts:
    1,587
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    Check the regestry file for quicktask {?} or task.
    Other then that,if it lets you set the prefences change it to stop loading at start up.
     
  4. Primal

    Primal Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    13,781
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    Right click the icon in system tray and select QuickTime Preferences, under the Advance tab... all the way at the bottom is Tray Icon uncheck Install QuickTime icon in the system tray. Hit Apply and OK

    and if you're trying to remove it completely (since it's not listed in Add/Remove Programs) try this.

    You might have removed it before, but if you use iTunes... it's included in the installation package so it could have been put back on.
     
  5. Ruination04

    Ruination04 8 Years Old Since 1984!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    6,111
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +5
    Ebay:
    doesn't give me any preferences....i am working on it....
     

Share This Page