Quick PS1 memory card Question

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Predakwon, Dec 7, 2008.

  1. Predakwon

    Predakwon ...Green Lantern's light!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,113
    News Credits:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Location:
    NYC/LI
    Likes:
    +114
    Ebay:
    I have an official blue PS1 memory card.

    For some reason it doesn't work on my slim PS2 (on PS1 games of course) but it works on my old chunky PS2.

    Is this a common problem? I tried to Google with no results.

    If it is, anyone know of any PS1 cards that work on a slim PS2?

    Thx
     
  2. Optimus_Prime84

    Optimus_Prime84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Posts:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    Probably same thing with the BC not working in 40gb? they probably took out that feature?
     
  3. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,619
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +34
    Slims support PS1 games, though I've never heard of this problem
     
  4. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    i never had any problems with my slim and ps1 cards....

    you've checked both slots? tried ps1 and 2 cards in both slots? try all combination's to see if you can rule anything out.
     
  5. Predakwon

    Predakwon ...Green Lantern's light!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,113
    News Credits:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Location:
    NYC/LI
    Likes:
    +114
    Ebay:
    Yup, tried both slots.

    The PS2 cards has no problems.

    I just find it odd that the PS1 card works on my old PS2 and my old PS1 games work fine. It just doesn't register the PS1 card.

    Smangerbot, what kind of PS1 card do you have?
     
  6. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    it was one of the very originals, a grey one. i bought it when ps1's first came out. well, a week after, playing resi 1 was a hassle because i couldn't save for a week. but it seems i have digressed....
     
  7. Ghost Prime

    Ghost Prime Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    766
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    your still playing psone games?

    have you tried FORCING the card in? i got that problem with my old one and found if i forced the card in and held it for few seconds it usually worked
     
  8. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,619
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +34
    Here is something I will say though. I had a PS2 card go out on me from one play to another, I lost my almost-finished Jak 1 game. I was so pissed. So you may just have a bad card. See if you can find a really cheap PS1 used card and test it out.

    edit: wait, nevermind, I just read that you said it worked with your old PS2.... strange...

    And what's wrong with playing PS1 games, hehehe. I still pop in Colony Wars and Twisted Metal 2 in from time to time.
     
  9. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    Bisha Bashi is worth the £3.49 or whatever it was i paid for it.

    HYPER BISHI BASHI!
     
  10. Counterpunch?

    Counterpunch? Interior Renovator

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,334
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +37
    Ebay:
    Sounds like a bad card reader in the PS2.
     
  11. Predakwon

    Predakwon ...Green Lantern's light!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,113
    News Credits:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Location:
    NYC/LI
    Likes:
    +114
    Ebay:
    I wanted a quick game of Castlevania Symphony of the Night and Tekken 2. Couldn't bc the memory card slot.

    And not sure what forcing the card in would do. It reads the Ps2 cards just fine. Just not my PS1 card.
     
  12. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    I had a card that gave me problems reading in my old PS2 (the first model). all it took to fix it was to push it slightly left or right. it wouldnt read if it was straight, but it would work fine if it wasnt straight.
     
  13. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,685
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,602
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    If you have a PS2 card in one slot, it wont recognise a PS1 card in the other, could that be your problem?

    I get the feeling your chunky PS2 doesn't have any memory cards slotted, so it reads the PS1 card fine, but the Slimeline (heh thats a typo I'm keeping) maybe has your PS2 card permanently slotted?

    Anyway, anyone remember the rediculous prices those PS2 cards used to fetch? They're only 8MB capacity! These days cards go up to 32 gig! 64? Crazy!
     
  14. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    yeah, £20+ for an 8 meg card.

    the ps1 ones were worse, they were like 150kb or something.
     

Share This Page