quick computer question

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by shadow panther, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. shadow panther

    shadow panther Mechanically Insane

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,038
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +25
    ok my comp died, the only thing lift is the hard drive, its literally the only thing left. how do i get my stuff off this hard drive and onto my new computer?
     
  2. Scorpion

    Scorpion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Posts:
    1,147
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    the easiest thing to do would be to make your old harddrive a secondary drive on your new machine
     
  3. chrisr291

    chrisr291 Master of the Unknown

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    12,355
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +33
    Ebay:
    ^^^

    Yeah, just install it and your good to go. BTW, what happened to your old machine?
     
  4. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,728
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +161
    Ebay:
    Just make sure your BIOS boots up this drive after the primary drive on the new computer.
     
  5. MegaPrime33

    MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,766
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +1
    Or you could get one of those tool things that you can connect to the drive and then connect it via USB to your computer. This way you can move the files over. It will be a slower transfer, but easier if you don't want to open your case.
     
  6. shadow panther

    shadow panther Mechanically Insane

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,038
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +25
    ok this i like where do i get one?
     
  7. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,728
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +161
    Ebay:
    You can use a USB/IDE/SATA cable adapter, or you could use a hard drive dock. I imagine these are ubiquitous enough to find at your local Best Buy or equivalent. I can find some links if you're planning on buying this online.
     
  8. autobotblaster

    autobotblaster Y U NO!?!?!

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Posts:
    968
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    PrOn?
     
  9. shadow panther

    shadow panther Mechanically Insane

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,038
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +25
    yes please help me out, im lost here
     
  10. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,728
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +161
    Ebay:
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  11. shadow panther

    shadow panther Mechanically Insane

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,038
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +25
    this is what the back of my hard drive looks like
     

    Attached Files:

  12. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,728
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +161
    Ebay:
    SATA.
     
  13. shadow panther

    shadow panther Mechanically Insane

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,038
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +25
    i will look into this after the baby goes to bed, thank you so much
     
  14. shadow panther

    shadow panther Mechanically Insane

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,038
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +25
    ok i got the adapter and hooked it up and i can access the c drive of my old hard drive, i just cant find "my documents"
     
  15. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,728
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +161
    Ebay:
    If you're on XP, the path is:

    C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\My Documents

    On Vista and 7, it's probably something similar.
     
  16. shadow panther

    shadow panther Mechanically Insane

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,038
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +25
    yeah i went there and none of my documents are there, the drive is xp my new comp is windows 7
     
  17. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,235
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    As long as you can remember one of the file names you're looking for you can just search the entire drive and figure out the location of the rest from that.
     
  18. Tripredacus

    Tripredacus K-Mart-ian Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,342
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +4
    Was there any folders you couldn't open? You may need to take ownership of the old drive before Win7 will let you see the files. I had to do a similar thing on my PC.
     
  19. shadow panther

    shadow panther Mechanically Insane

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,038
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +25
    folder simply wasnt there, oh well i salvaged what i really wanted to salvage, thanks for all your help
     

Share This Page