Question(s) about DVD-Ripping Programs

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Witwicky Camaro, Nov 11, 2007.

1. Witwicky Camaro

Witwicky Camaro Sabbatical Is Required

News Credits:
    I've been making music videos (the fan kind) since 2004, but searching for clips to make videos is a pain in the ass, not to mention a waste of good time. Somehow or another I've managed succeed with downloading .WMV Formatted Trailers/Clips and creating videos to my hearts to delight, but this is steadily becoming harder to do when I want a change of scenery (different clips). Windows Media and MPEG formats aren't very popular, given the lack of them available to download, unlike .AVI - .MOV - formats which you find a hearty abundance.

Getting to the point, I wanted to Rip my TRANSFORMERS DVD for music video making purposes only, but I'm unsure if DVD-Ripping Programs are safe for the DVD or my computer themselves. Will either function correctly after I download the program and create video files for my purposes? Plus, can you convert them to .WMV formats and not the latter .AVI (because for some reason, .AVI files don't work on my computer. I get sound, sometimes, but no picture)?

2. ChldsPlay

ChldsPlay Well-Known Member

DVDDecrypter is your friend, and free. DVD and computer will be fine. I'm working on editing the TF movie now.

3. Methos

Methos ...Hail Megatron

DVD Fab is another one{pay}

Sounds like you need a codec.

4. Spanky2324

Spanky2324 Member

If you want codecs. Definitely shoot for the K-lite codec pack. Has every codec you will ever need and on top of that it's free. I have it and it works great just make to unclick the windows media player classic program or some files will bring that up instead of the actual media player.

5. Jux

Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

I'm making a vid to the new TF movie to warm up for the member vid.

I'll race ya. ;)