Question/Problem about 360 DL Content

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Knightsword, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. Knightsword

    Knightsword Fire in the North TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,344
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    YouTube:
    Here is my question and problem. A friend of mine is currently out a internet connection so she brought over her 360 hard drive to download the Fable 2 Knothole Island stuff and tried it on my 360 with my copy of Fable 2. When she got home and tried to start her character she got a error about the content downloaded is not for her game.

    Now if she were to delete it and redownload with her copy of the game, will she be able to play her character again on her own 360?
     
  2. Red Alert

    Red Alert Security

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +26
    Did you download it with her profile or yours?
     
  3. Knightsword

    Knightsword Fire in the North TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,344
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    YouTube:
    It was here profile on her HDD, but my 360 and my copy of Fable 2
     
  4. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    Need to be signed in to Live to play it as it wasn't downloaded on her Xbox.
     
  5. NGW

    NGW Rawr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    7,669
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +13
    I've always hated that.

    A while back a few friends and I were gonna have a mini Rock Band party. I brought my HDD as my friend already had their 360 there, and I had more DLC than my friend did, etc. etc.

    So when I made my main LIVE account, I screwed crap up with the parental settings (using an email account that wasn't 18+, as I was 17 at the time) and had my uncle put his account for the parent account for that account and I need him to be able to fix the settings for it or sometihng like that, whatever, enough rambling on that bit. So I used the account I normally use for DLC, as it does have the correct permissions for it, while my HDD was attached to my friend's Xbox.

    So now whenever I want to play those 3 songs, I have to make sure I've got my 360 hooked up to my router, make sure I am connected to LIVE, and make sure I have that account signed in.

    It's annoying and fucking stupid.

    I understand the reasoning behind it (that way you can't just copy your DLC to people's consoles, and such) but it really does bother me.
     
  6. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    You sure got riled up over 3 songs ¬_¬

    And it's a perfectly reasonable DRM system, especially now you can transfer licenses via Xbox.com and wayyyyyyyyyy better than Sony's wherein 4 people can steal your shit for every one thing purchased. Amazing system.
     
  7. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,646
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,515
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    I thought everyones 360 was permanently hooked up to the internet.
     

Share This Page