Question on fixing 2 different headpiece problems

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by RavX, May 22, 2011.

1. RavX

RavX Well-Known Member

Ebay:
    Hi guys,

I'm a complete novice with a lot of fixes/customs so I thought I would ask here before attempting anything. I have 2 different figures I need help with but both involve the headpiece of the figure.

ROTF Smokescreen:

I recently opened up a ROTF smokescreen and when I got to transforming the head it came straight off. I heard something ratting around and sure enough upon shaking him out came the pin from beneath the panel that raises up the head. I managed to remove the upper torso to get to the area and try to re-affix the pin but the pin does not seem to stay in the hole at the bottom of the head. I have tried applying as much pressure to it as I can but I can't seem to get it to stay. I thought I got it snug once but when I turned the head from side to side the thing just pops right back out.

Is this something where I can apply super glue/nail polish/futures to the pin to hopefully make it a more snug fit? Should I try some other way of tapping the pin in further first? Any other suggestions? I don't know if this was a common problem with the figure or not. I couldn't find anything on the boards.

ROTF Swerve:

Different figure .. same issue .. only this time with a ball joint instead of a pin. Transformed this guy after opening him and the head came off. I found several threads that said this is a common problem so I think I just need to coat the ball joint with glue/polish again and hopefully it will fix the issue, but can someone confirm this before I try it? I honestly don't know if it is an issue of the hole on the underside of the headpiece being too big for the joint or if it could be the opposite with it being too small.