question for electrical savvy people

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by *Deathblade, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. *Deathblade

    *Deathblade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    873
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +64
    Here's a question for you. I own this star projector.

    Amazon.com: Laser Stars Indoor Light Show - The Most Amazing Laser Light Show You Will See: Home & Kitchen

    When i moved the boneheaded movers lost the plug. I am trying to find a replacement power supply. I says it accepts
    PHP:
    a 6 V AC 1200 MA plug. I am having the damndest time finding this, but maybe because I am bit rusty on electronic theory. I know AC =alternating current, and =DC direct current.

    The closest thing I have found is this.

    NEW 6V 1200mA 1.2A AC/DC Power ac adapter Power supply | eBay

    Is this the right plug? It takes AC and outputs it as DC, but is this what I want for this device? Finding an exact manufacturers plug has been a bust.
     
  2. Chalice

    Chalice ليس هناك ما هو صحيح، فكل

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    If you go to Radioshack they'll build you a custom plug for it. Might be slightly pricier (say $20ish) than buying a standard one, but you'll know it works.
     
  3. Aernaroth

    Aernaroth <b><font color=blue>I voted for Super_Megatron and Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Posts:
    24,387
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    367
    Likes:
    +1,347
    If the device is designed for AC, providing it with DC power is probably not the best idea. It will probably work in the short run, but it might not work as well, and may shorten the lifetime of the device. Not NEARLY as bad as providing an AC power stream to a DC device though.
     
  4. Autobus Prime

    Autobus Prime Transit Former

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Posts:
    8,682
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +17
  5. *Deathblade

    *Deathblade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    873
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +64
    ? where have you heard that at? I know they have universal power supplies, even a quick call to a couple just now and they acted like I asked for a flux capacitor.
     
  6. KnightSaberAmi

    KnightSaberAmi Nyan Nyan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Posts:
    2,894
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    :lol  I've gone into Radio Shack a couple of times with a shopping list from my Dad and they wanted to know what he did for a living. So it's really a question of who's working that day and your best bet would be to just go in.
     
  7. Chalice

    Chalice ليس هناك ما هو صحيح، فكل

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    I've had them do it for me twice. First time I went in looking for a standard plug for a drill, they read the elec specifications on the battery and built me one.

    *shrug* maybe it's a location thing.
     

Share This Page