Question for all you hardware hackers/modders... Take a look and help me!

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Napjr, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. Napjr

    Napjr <b><font color=gold>Mr. Internet</font><br><font c Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,717
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    192
    Likes:
    +4
    Ebay:
    Dont worry, this is safe according to the rules :p 


    While surfing the web, i saw a post on a blog dated january 2005 on where the poster disassembled a nokia 6230 and removed the camera module

    maZZoo's blog 15 01 2005

    Please look at the pics

    Anyone knows if its possible to make some kind of "cable extensor" to plug the camera module and then the cellphone?

    Honestly i dont know much about circuits and such things, but im trying to do a little home project wich should consist on installing the camera module on the bumper of my car and the cellphone inside. Think about it as a low cost bumpercamera since i have an old working 6230 but in terrible shape

    By just looking at the module i think all i would need is to connect to the phone with a wire for each pin right?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Shin-Gouki

    Shin-Gouki Rebuilding Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,935
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Location:
    Originally: Huntington Beach, CA, Now: Cincinnati
    Likes:
    +39
    Looks like it's metal to metal contacts. I theory you should be able solder wires to the pins and the pads and it should work.
     
  3. Napjr

    Napjr <b><font color=gold>Mr. Internet</font><br><font c Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,717
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    192
    Likes:
    +4
    Ebay:
    you might be right Shin, but i would like to be sure before doing any kind of work

    For example, what kind of cable should i use?

    So far ive been able to remove the module without problem and reinstall it
     
  4. Shin-Gouki

    Shin-Gouki Rebuilding Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,935
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Location:
    Originally: Huntington Beach, CA, Now: Cincinnati
    Likes:
    +39
    I would use a good gauge electrical wire, I use it all the time for wiring up Arcade Controllers, it should be fine. (If you have Wal-Mart there get the stuff they have in Automotive)

    Edit: I just looked it up and it looks like you do have them there.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2009

Share This Page