Question about Korean/Chinese figures

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by TerraDestroyer, Jun 25, 2006.

1. TerraDestroyer

TerraDestroyer "Sometimes crazy works."

News Credits:
    Since I'm relatively new to the fandom, I figured I'd check with all the nice folks here at TFW and ask: is there any real difference between the Takara/Hasbro figures released in Japan/the US and their Korean/Chinese counterparts?
    I ask because I've had unfortunate experiences with buying certain franchises in their "international" forms.
    I'm sure that I'm probably just being paranoid, but I know it can't hurt to ask before making my purchase.

Thanks in advance!

2. Soundblaster1

Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

News Credits:
    Sonokong does most of the Transformer stuff in Korea... Those are on par or even better than Hasbro stuff... I'm not too sure about China...

3. LigerPrime

LigerPrime Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Hmmm, I'm not too sure about China...but we can safely assume that whatever China has, so does Hong Kong...meaning China has access to both Hasbro and Takara TFs.

From what I have seen so far, there seems to be some differences in quality between Hasbro and Takara's TF...with many saying Takara is better - in terms of quality of plastics, addition of chrome and paint applications.

However, unless you can afford some of the rather higher import prices, you may prefer to simply pick Hasbro's TF - as the differences can be minimal.

It is also important to note that Hasbro's QC is fast catching up with Takara's. In fact, some of Hasbro's TFs are on par with Takara's such as Primus - according to some of my friends who own both versions. Oh well, I guess that's all I know...

4. TwoKingMick

TwoKingMick Mick

Sonokong transformers are excellent, perfect quality and nice packaging. For china, they get a mix of hasbro, takara and a sea of different quality knockoffs.

5. Drake

Drake Smooth Is Smooth Baby