Putting away childish things: Should you?

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by Shockwave 75, Sep 19, 2006.

1. Shockwave 75

Shockwave 75 Master of the Rules.

I was watching this parenting show this morning and one of their regular guests, a Doctor by trade, was talking about his experiences before and after having kids. And he used that famous quote about "putting away..." and how he found that to be true after he had kids. That he felt it neccessary to abandon all the things he loved in his youth because he was a father now.

Now, I don't have kids yet, but my wife and I are avid collectors and fans of various things (TF's and Star Trek foremost), and I think the notion that quote puts forward is wrong. Soul-crushingly wrong.

Let use my father as an example.

In his youth he was and avid collector of comics and sports cards and memerobilia. In fact when he was young almost all he ever read was comics and my grandmother became concerned (this was in the 50's and 60's). But when she spoke to the school counciler he told her that it was fine that he read comics. That comics expose their readers to just about as many new words and concepts as regular books. Very forward thinking during the time when "Seduction of the Innocent" was published. This also explains why I never got a hard time for my love of comics.

But I digress.

Sometime when my father was growing up he obviously "out-grew" these things, probably during his teen years as so many of us do, even myself for a time. And he never really reconnected with them until much later in his life, and I can tell that he is much happier now because of it.
    For years he was a miserable sod, and I don't blame him. Get up, go to a job that he grew to hate, come home, eat, sleep, repeat. But somewhere along the line he found his inner child again and now he has a rec-room full of some very impressive sports memerobilia, and he just seems to enjoy life again.