PSP/PS3 Remote Play

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Primus, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    Anyone ever use the Remote Play feature of the PS3 and PSP? I know it's been talked about a little bit but I was amazed the other day when I was messing around with it.

    I hadn't looked at it in a while so I decided to check it out. I have PlayOn media server on my PC so I can stream netflix and hulu and stuff like that to my PS3. I Remote Play'd into my PS3 with my PSP and was able to stream hulu and netflix to my PSP in brilliant clarity. It really looked amazing. Like I was watching a UMD.

    I also played Lego Batman for the PS3 on the PSP but none of the other games I tried worked. Pretty cool though.
     
  2. Darkravager

    Darkravager Zombie Hunter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,293
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +1
    I've never really been able to get my remote play to be very satisfying. I always have to turn on my PS3 and then manually connect it to my PSP instead of using my PSP to turn on my PS3 and connect them like they are supposed to.
     
  3. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    I used to play Final Fantasy 9 (before it was released digitally) by leaving the disc in my PS3 and playing remotely from work. It works great for RPGs, but the problem is that I could never really figure out the port forwarding crap, so one day it stopped working and that's it, never got it to work again.
     
  4. Mixmaster

    Mixmaster logh ghot SIS yoD TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,741
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Likes:
    +34
    I've never used it outside of my LAN. I found it too laggy for racing games, i.e. Gran Turismo 2, so I gave up on it, but that was some time ago. There's a program you can download to get Remote Play working on Vaio notebooks also.
     
  5. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    I had that issue initially but I think there have since been firmware updates to fix this.
     
  6. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    Yeah, I was able to turn my PS3 on from work and then shut it back down when I was done with it. I wish there was an easier way to manage the port forwarding, which I never figured out.
     
  7. Trailbreaker77

    Trailbreaker77 Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    13,006
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    I use it a lot more now then we the feature first came out. I think it has to do with all the PSN games on my PS3 hard drive now. I have never been success in getting it to connect to my PS3 away from home however.
     

Share This Page