PS3 Setup

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Paladin, Nov 30, 2008.

1. Paladin

Paladin Have Zord, Will Travel

News Credits:
    Detroit- It's a shithole full of people who steal
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    So, over the Thanksgiving weekend I found a 20gig PS3 at one of the local used-game retailers. It was fairly cheap so I decided "what the hell" and picked it up.

Today was the first chance I had to actually set it up. Took everything out, put the plug into an empty socket, put in the same three-color cord setup I've been using on game systems for the last eleven years, power it up and what happens?

Absolutely nothing.

As far as I can tell the system powers up fine but nothings' being displayed on the TV screen.

AM I missing a step or could there be something wrong with this system???

2. Joe Moore

Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Once you turn the system on in the back, run your finger over the power or eject button on the front to power the system on.

If you already did that and still get no picture, do you at least get sound? If yes, then your system was setup for a different video resolution. Turn the system off by holding your finger over the power button in the front for a few seconds. This will reset the systems video settings. When it powers on you will be asked to run through the video setup, you can let it auto pick the settings, which is usually fine.

3. Paladin

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    I know how to power it up, it responds to that without a problem. And it also seems to recognize when a game is put into it.

But there's no picture OR sound from the TV. Doesn't even go to a Startup screen or anything like that.

4. Joe Moore

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Have you tried connecting it with a different audio/video cables directly to the TV?

5. Paladin

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Twitter: