PS3 Red Screen, who backs up their data?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Primal, Jan 1, 2010.

1. Primal

Primal Veteran

News Credits:
    Went to turn on my PS3 slim today and I got the lovely Red Screen. I entered safe mode and did a settings restore and a firmware update (even though I haven't changed any settings and I updated to 3.15 when it came out in December) and nothing, still get the red screen on bootup (I didn't do the other options cause it would delete all my game data). The system is only 4 months old. I don't do much gaming on it. Mostly just use it to watch avis

I called Sony and my system needs to be serviced :(  I was on the last memory sequence for Assassin's Creed 2. I hope I don't lose my game data, I haven't been on the PSN since I started playing so my Trophy Data isn't synced either. Boooo.

Anyone do backups of their PS3 data? How often?
    Anyone else gotten the red screen on the slim? Lost game data?

2. Prowl

Prowl Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I don't do a "backup, per se, but I save my PS3 game saves to a USB stick from time to time and move them to my PC. The only game that I know of that doesn't allow this is Dragon Age. Youre on my friend's list, right Primal?

3. Primal

Primal Veteran

News Credits:
    Would anyone know if it's possible to take my HDD (if thats not whats causing the system to fail) and place it in a friends PS3 to perform a backup to an external drive and trophy sync?

@Prowl -- How do you just copy game save data? Is there an option just for that? As for friends list... No. I haven't played any games online yet :p 

4. MoeSizzlac

MoeSizzlac Newb Customizer

Been doing a little research on this and I have some bad news.

1) Each hard drive is specially coded for that machine so you can't put the HDD into your friend's machine...it will ask you to reformat.