PS3 questions and answers!

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Recall, Jun 5, 2009.

  1. Recall

    Recall Player Select

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    6,129
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +2
    Apologies for my never ending questions, but I was always told if you don't ask you will never know :) 

    My PS3 has a 80GB hard drive and already its down to 58GB and I have no idea why. I've purchased Wipeout HD which im sure is saved to my hard drive and taken up a few gig yet I have no idea why my hard drive is so full already.

    I can't actually find the menu or screen that lets me see whats on my hard drive and delete as appropiate, also i'm guessing every game installs itself taking up memory. I can find where it stores game saves but nothing else.

    May someone direct me please to where I can manage whats on my PS3 hard drive?

    Thanks.
     
  2. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    if you go to game 'column' in the cross browser thingy and scroll to the top, you can see a folder called game data. this is where all installs go. also if you press triangle over a game you have installed, it will show you the size.

    also formatting a hard drive will 'lose' you some of the space, its always been this way. (eg a formatted 360 gig hdd will actually only give you 300gb of useable storage.)

    also i think the ps3 uses a certain amount of space for system related things.
     
  3. Recall

    Recall Player Select

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    6,129
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +2
    Thanks for the info :) 

    I don't have the console infront me but is there an option to delete the installs or other items apart from just viewing its size?
     
  4. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    There's a lot of space set aside for caching etc. It's perfectly normal, as Smang has said.
     
  5. Recall

    Recall Player Select

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    6,129
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +2
    Ok thankies :D 
     
  6. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    if you press triangle over a game you have installed or any file in the game data folder it will show you some options one being delete, it works the same as browsing your savegames and photos etc. think of triangle as your right click.
     
  7. kronos

    kronos PSN = KRONOSX1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,819
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    playstation home eats up 4gigs right off the bat. it "reserves" it.
     
  8. MetalRyde

    MetalRyde is an a-hole with a heart.

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    12,982
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Likes:
    +63
    well... home is pointless to me now, nothing but assholes and guys gangbanging on female avatars that actually 40 something guys.

    and can handle noobs and newbs. but not the above.i got 32 gb left i my ps3, im keeping my rockband1-2 , mgs4 and re5 data

    i got resistance FoM, sonic(nextgen), TF the movie game, orange box, bioshock, fallout 3, turok, sf4, and GH: aerosmith.

    which should i take off?
     
  9. Sizzle

    Sizzle Sparkabot

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1,577
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +1
    I don't know about PS3, but I've got a 20 GB hard drive on my Xbox 360, have barely loaded anything, and only have 10 GB left.
     
  10. Trailbreaker77

    Trailbreaker77 Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    13,006
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    I put a 320 gig in my console started with a 60gb lauch console and upgrading the hard drive is easy.
     
  11. Recall

    Recall Player Select

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    6,129
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +2
    Sorry for another question but anyone know how to alter the menu background apart from the two default that come with the machine?

    Also how do you get photos on it, as sticking a usb stick into the PS3 with photos isn't recognised? must they be saved as a particular file?

    Thanks.
     
  12. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    videos, pics and music have to be put in folders named respectively as far as i'm aware, if you format the memory stick using the ps3 it should create these folders. or you could just put photos in a folder called 'photos' :) 

    this is also how you'd get a wallpaper on there.
     
  13. Recall

    Recall Player Select

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    6,129
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +2
    thanks smang :) 
     
  14. Cheetatron

    Cheetatron Eh

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Posts:
    4,710
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    also GB is in metric as used by Hard drive manufacturers and hardware vendors from the software side of things GB(really should be GiB) is not in metric so your GiB rating will always be significantly lower than the GB rating on the actual drive add formatting, stored data and you are really in for a let down lol
     
  15. Drake

    Drake Smooth Is Smooth Baby

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    11,205
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +0
    Time to put a 1TB in that bad boy. That's what I'de do if I had a PS3 and will do when I eventually get one.
     
  16. Recall

    Recall Player Select

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    6,129
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +2
    It really defeats the point of a games console that you have to put your own hardrive in it, what does it think it is...a pc?

    I love that MGS4 needs 5GB for installation purposes....thats a fuck load.
     
  17. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    you don't -have- to, but its a nice touch that its so easy, and the process is detailed in the manual. for most people 60+ gigs would be fine for a games console.

    god knows i wish i could do the same with my 360. the 320gig hdd i put in my PS3 was cheaper than the 360 60gig drives.
     
  18. Trailbreaker77

    Trailbreaker77 Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    13,006
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    Koji Berserk, what is your PSN name so I can add you I can send you a couple Transformers background. Also if you use a USB thumb drive just highlight it on the console and hit triangle there should be an option to explore the drive and find your media.
     
  19. Recall

    Recall Player Select

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    6,129
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +2
    My PSN ID is: RecallBerserk

    Thanks Trailbreaker, thats real kind of ya :) 
     
  20. Sideswipe80

    Sideswipe80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Posts:
    10,367
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +27
    I'll take some of those backgrounds.
     

Share This Page