PS3 Newb HDD upgrade question

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Mega-Prime, Nov 15, 2007.

  1. Mega-Prime

    Mega-Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    556
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    I will be getting a PS3 shortly & was wondering what the process is for upgrading the HDD.

    I figured, instead of getting the 80Gig version with a game I don't like, I'd get the 40Gig version for 100$ less with SM3 on Blu-Ray & just upgrade to a 250Gig Western Digital Hard Drive later. (149.99$ at tigerdirect.com). http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3201416&CatId=2676

    I was just wondering first if you can swap the stock drive for any Notebook SATA HD & what the process entails?


    Thanks,
     
  2. skywarp

    skywarp The extra Autobot

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    415
    Trophy Points:
    121
    Likes:
    +0
    yep, that is all you need. I just swapped out my 60 gig for a 120 gig drive.

    Just keep in mind the orginal two models have hardware PS2/PS1 backwards compatiblty
    the 80 has a software version. but the cheaper model has no backwards compatibty.
     
  3. Mega-Prime

    Mega-Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    556
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:

    Yeah, but I'm getting a PS3 to play PS3 games. :p 

    Seriously though, BC isn't a big deal for me. Neither are the mem card slots or 2 extra USB ports.


    But, as far the the HDD swap... Is it just plug & play? Do you have to run some kinda hardware update software or anything?
     
  4. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    I think you'd be best googling it. There are sites that have step by step instructions for how to do it.
     
  5. Mega-Prime

    Mega-Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    556
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Normally I would, but the only internet access I have for the time being is at work & Gaming sites are blocked by the Firewall.
     
  6. ssjautobot

    ssjautobot Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Posts:
    482
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +2


    this video helped me alot
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2016
  7. Mega-Prime

    Mega-Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    556
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:

    That's exactly what I was looking for,

    Thanks! :thumb 
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2016
  8. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    the PS3's manual contains instructions for doing this.
     
  9. Mega-Prime

    Mega-Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    556
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    157
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Don't own one yet. :D 
     

Share This Page