PS3 HDMI Display Problem.. any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Prowl, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    I bought a new LCD TV today for my room and I moved my 360 into the room, and I'm keeping my PS3 in the living room. Thing is, when all the cables and junk was settled, I tried to play a movie on my PS3 and the entire image is offset to the left. Any disc movie gets this results, DVD/BluRay. When I change to component, everything is ok, but when I return to HDMI I get that offset problem again. Anyone know what caused this or how I can fix it?
     
  2. Mr.Roboto

    Mr.Roboto YOU'RE A SHRUB ROCKETEER! Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,075
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +2
    I believe you have to go to your settings on the PS3 to set it to the correct HD settings. I think that is what I did with mine.
     
  3. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    Hmm, what do you mean? I mean I went into display and set it to 720p which is what I have been using lately.
     
  4. Mr.Roboto

    Mr.Roboto YOU'RE A SHRUB ROCKETEER! Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,075
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +2
    What is the highest HD settings your LCD can handle? Try setting it to that.

    I'll go look at my PS3 and see whats up.
     
  5. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    1080i, but the thing is I had it set to that, and recently, I changed it to 720p, but everything was fine. This happened when I moved my 360 to the next room, and it only happens with HDMI, everything else works fine. IT's like the entire image is offset to the left, I can even see a centimeter of black to the right.
     
  6. T16skyhopp

    T16skyhopp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5,048
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Likes:
    +4
    Ebay:
    not too sure as i dont have one, but there should be an option within the ps3 video settings to move the display image, like a computer monitor.
     
  7. Mr.Roboto

    Mr.Roboto YOU'RE A SHRUB ROCKETEER! Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,075
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +2
    There is an option to set it to Letterbox. Try changing it to that.
     
  8. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    I figured it out... Not the cool way, though. I went to my TV's settings and hit Reset all AV settings and it returned to normal. I had company this weekend, someone must have changed a setting on the TV itself, so that fixed it all. Thanks for all your help guys.
     

Share This Page