ps3 hdd replacement

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by ssjautobot, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. ssjautobot

    ssjautobot Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Posts:
    482
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +2
    so i just got my ps3 a few days ago, and couldnt be happier. but my friend was telling me about how i could replace the hdd with a much MUCH larger one, as apposed to the 20 gb. saying that i could but a 600 gb hdd in the thing. is this true? and if so, how would i know if the hdd i get would be able to fit or be compatable with my ps3?
     
  2. Jux

    Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    22,664
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    First, you can probably start off by waving goodbye to your warranty.

    (insert flamepanther "it'd probably die right after it expired anyway" comment)

    Second, you learn Japanese and learn to read this
     
  3. Cy-Kill

    Cy-Kill Slackers unite...tomorrow

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Posts:
    979
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    I think it's officially sanctioned by Sony, and is even mentioned in the PS3 user manuel. I guess PS3 uses a standard hard drive, and not a custom one like the 360's. From what I've read, you open the little flap on the side, unscrew the drive and slide it out.

    http://www.gamespot.com/features/6161997/p-2.html

    Apparently it's incredibly hard to remove though, as a few of the screws are latched so tight you'll wear the screwheads down even with the proper screwdriver size and type. I wonder if a power drill with the right attachment would do the trick?
     
  4. Jux

    Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    22,664
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    Good move on their part in that case.
     
  5. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    That's an extremely cool move.
     
  6. Sidecutter

    Sidecutter Evil Dealer Scum TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Posts:
    5,098
    News Credits:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +41
    I may be wrong, but the last time I checked, the PS3 uses a 2.5" standard laptop/notebook PC drive, as opposed to a normal 3.5" desktop HDD. Given this, there is certainly not any way to put a 600GB HDD in it, not at this time. The top-lvel notebook drives are only just getting around 160GB at the moment.
     
  7. Fairy Princess

    Fairy Princess Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    4,331
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    160GB is still better than 20GB
     
  8. Sidecutter

    Sidecutter Evil Dealer Scum TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Posts:
    5,098
    News Credits:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +41
    Certainly, however I just wanted to make sure he knew this BEFORE he went out dropping wads of cash on a big HDD and breaking open the PS3.
     
  9. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,508
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    there's were talk about Sony letting you use external HDs...
     
  10. mx-01 archon

    mx-01 archon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    15,077
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +113
    Unfortunately a laptop HDD is a heckuva lot more expensive than an equivalent desktop model...
     

Share This Page