PS3 Firmware 1.50 Released - PS1 & PS2 Graphics Issues Fixed

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Joe Moore, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    http://kotaku.com/gaming/ps3/latest-ps3-firmware-hits-fixes-bc-graphical-issues-231003.php
     
  2. Cheetatron

    Cheetatron Eh

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Posts:
    4,710
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Nice
     
  3. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,698
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,619
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    That was quick.
     
  4. 03Mach1

    03Mach1 Reason Has No Voice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,268
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +26
    Ebay:
    *waits for the inevitable 'not quick enough!!111!11! it should've been that way at launch!11!!1!11' remarks*
     
  5. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    And another good news from Sony thread goes completely unnoticed...
     
  6. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,533
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +135
    Yay! The PS3 lost some suckage!

    Happy?

    Seriously, you can't expect people to get too excited about this unless they've already got a PS3. Especially since everyone pretty much knew this was going to happen in the near future anyway.
     
  7. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    In other news, Psychonauts works on the 360 now and I can't find a copy.


    I shall keep all relevant thoughts about the lack of discussion to myself :p 
     
  8. OmegaSaber

    OmegaSaber Your buttcheeks is warm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Posts:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Of course Sony won't get any credit for this. But hooray the Wii can play 10-20 year old games!!!

    So can my Xbox, oh, and they were free.
     
  9. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,533
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +135
    At least they worked right the first time :p 
     
  10. Gigatron_2005

    Gigatron_2005 President of Calendars

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    7,871
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +1
    Probably because very few people have bought a PS3. :p 


    Well, the Wii played all (but not stuff like the Gameboy Player) of its last gen games without a hitch since day one. Also, how is PS3 going on those downloadable PS1 games? Still need a PSP to play it?
     
  11. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    And of course despite only being able to play them on the PSP, you can't get them without a PS3. :D 
     
  12. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,533
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +135
    For some reason I thought they already fixed that. Oh well, doesn't affect me either way.
     
  13. alphie

    alphie Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,549
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +10
    Hubby just downloaded the update. Heaps and bounds better. He can now play Final Fantasy 12! Before it was just mainly all blocks, now very clear.
     
  14. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Well the Wii is virtually an updated Gamecube while the 360 and PS3 are built from the ground up.
    Yes, I just went there :D 

    This is good news that Sony are continually updating there firmwares for older games.
    I just wish Microsoft would release more updates for backwards compatibility.
     
  15. 03Mach1

    03Mach1 Reason Has No Voice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,268
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +26
    Ebay:
    I guess it's a good thing I have both.
     
  16. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,533
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +135
    And a Pentium IV is an updated 386. Did you have an actual point?
     
  17. My03Tundra

    My03Tundra LOVES TO EDIT POSTS!!

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,583
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Yeah, I'll admit despite being a Wiinatic (Wii fanatic) that the Wii's graphics with initial titles isn't too impressive. With the first bunch of games they pushed more for variety then for graphics like SONY did with Resistance: Fall of Man. Come on, a $600 system and only ONE worthwhile game, STILL?!?

    As for firmware updates ALL of the current systems like Wii, PS3, and XBox 360 are capable of them. With the PS3 and Wii there are some issues on both that need to be worked out with firmware updates. They will be, in due time.

    As for the XBox 360...

    I had an original XBox and it was a good system. Big, bulky, but it had some great games. The XBox 360 so far is the best selling home console system and will likely hold that title for a LONG time. The problem with the XBox 360 is with HDMI support. Despite having to buy a $60 cable, the PS3 supports it, while from what I've read the XBox 360 will fix that issue with a new console. Yeah, typical Microsoft. Make the consumer buy ANOTHER XBox 360 just for HDMI support. I sure hope I'm wrong in what I've read and that they'll release an HDMI adapter for existing systems. But, knowing them and how they did 3rd party partners with the Zune I wouldn't put it past them.
     
  18. Samana Rombuca

    Samana Rombuca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Posts:
    1,456
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    That's the beauty of it! :)  It has full backwards compatibility and stands out because of the new control scheme. If I have any complaint it's that I need to use the Wiimote to start a GC game and it doesn't support 720p. Other than that, it's everything I wanted. 360 and PS3 have all the space in the world to flex their graphical muscle and the Wii is no slouch, just not "current" by... certain standards.
     
  19. ChldsPlay

    ChldsPlay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Posts:
    2,071
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    People still pay over $10 for HDMI cables?? Why?
     
  20. Gigatron_2005

    Gigatron_2005 President of Calendars

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    7,871
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +1
    Wondering that question has always left me in anger and confusion. I also lol'd when I heard some guy saying that he needed gold plated HDMI cables for better picture quality. roflololololol!! He could have paid $90 less and got the same image quality.
     

Share This Page