PS2 just craped out

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by grimlockams prime, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. grimlockams prime

    grimlockams prime Check you feet

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    1,880
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    well the title is self explainatory. and now i'm with out game system or dvd player till the 8th. i mean it wont go red the power light is green but its not on, and it wont turn red. any explinations?
     
  2. pscoop

    pscoop Dead inside

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,449
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +7
    Unplug it and plug it back in?
     
  3. Dirge121

    Dirge121 Eat the chikums

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    9,568
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +23
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    YouTube:
    Tumblr:
    Have you tried turning it off and on again?
    Have you tried hitting it?

    Well I'm fresh out of ideas.

    Wait, you didnt try cooling it down by dumping it in water did you?
     
  4. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    If he didn't try that before posting about it, then he shouldn't be playing video games.

    Please say this was the first thing you tried.
     
  5. pscoop

    pscoop Dead inside

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,449
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +7
    First thing I thought of, but since it was not mentioned in the OP, who really knows?

    Maybe more info would help. What was it doing when it froze?
     
  6. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    did you try blowing in it or something? maybe a hair or dust is effecting the button?
     
  7. grimlockams prime

    grimlockams prime Check you feet

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    1,880
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    1. i cant unplug and replug becuse i have to move a box and i cant move the box now

    2.nothing.i bumped the on swich i turned it off before it started up and poof
     
  8. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    You could, ya know, unplug it from the back of the console instead of moving shit around.
     
  9. Malach Ra

    Malach Ra TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    4,170
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +5
    I took my ps2 down to parade rest because it wouldnt read anything, and wiped the eye-runs like brand new now, well while doing this I unplugged the power button from the console, and it was a bitch trying to find out where it went. maybe doing this will help you out? you want some pics so I can show you whats going on? my ps2 sits now without the top, because I have to constantly keep cleaning the eye. let me know man.
     
  10. Bendimus Prime

    Bendimus Prime Rolls for initiative TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Posts:
    3,901
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +7
    How old is it? If it's a first or second gen PS2, it might just have died. You can get a slim-line for like $99.
     
  11. pscoop

    pscoop Dead inside

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,449
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +7
    Shit even I spaced on that one. I would have, I don't know, maybe moved the box.
     
  12. Roanstalker

    Roanstalker Great Baan Gaan fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    12,364
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +12
    Happened to mine once or twice. Just switch the system off (through the back switch) then switch back on and it should work fine. Only option so move the damn box.
     
  13. EvaUnit13

    EvaUnit13 REBUILD

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Posts:
    4,182
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    So... you're electronic and non-organic video gaming console excreted feces? Or did something excrete the PS2?
     
  14. grimlockams prime

    grimlockams prime Check you feet

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    1,880
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    the expresion means broke down.thats sarcasm isnt it

    and i unpluged it yesterday the light turned red but was blinking, woke up this morning it was perfect
     
  15. Cruellock

    Cruellock Disney Villain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Posts:
    4,857
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Like Bendimus Prime asked, how old is the PS2?
     
  16. TheIncredibleHulk

    TheIncredibleHulk Find Gary Busey!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,232
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +13
    Welcome to the club
     
  17. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    If I may translate, I believe his PS2 is fine now - he unplugged it to reset it, and it worked.

    Why he started a thread stating that it was broken without trying this first is beyond me.
     
  18. Pravus Prime

    Pravus Prime Sorcerer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Posts:
    14,119
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +71
    Two years ago my original (Gen 1) died on me, wouldn't read any disk, talked to the people here, ended up with a slimline, and I'm glad I did.
     
  19. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,319
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    wait, so the slimline is better than the original? whew. I bought a slimline a year ago without doing any research, but then thought I had heard that the originals were made better, and I sold my og one. it's weird though, because sometimes when I'm playing a game that has text, say, gran turismo 4, when it first comes on the screen it shakes and then steadies out. any ideas why that would be?
     
  20. pscoop

    pscoop Dead inside

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,449
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +7
    HOORAY!! Everything bad is good again!
     

Share This Page