Post Your Shmax "Dynamic Signature"

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by TheNotoriousROB, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. TheNotoriousROB

    TheNotoriousROB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Lumpy

    Lumpy Taylor Swift Actionmaster Super Mod

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    18,920
    News Credits:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +33
    why not just make it your signature? then it posts everytime you do... :confused: 
     
  3. Knightsword

    Knightsword Fire in the North TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,346
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    YouTube:
    Lumpy's right, just set it as your sig.
     
  4. Lumpy

    Lumpy Taylor Swift Actionmaster Super Mod

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    18,920
    News Credits:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +33
    i never get tired of hearing that...


    i still need to finish my shmax list though...still gotta upload energon, cybertron, g1, g2, mw, and any other random things i may have forgotten...
     
  5. Mumps

    Mumps <b><font color=blue>I voted for Super_Megatron and

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Posts:
    3,271
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    I need to take the time to update mine. The site isn't organized very well, it's slow as hell, and won't work in Firefox for me >_<
     
  6. thenatureboywoo

    thenatureboywoo Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Posts:
    8,206
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +18
    what does this have to do with toys?
     
  7. shmax

    shmax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    Psst... if you're having problems, please post your issues in the forums! I check them every few minutes when I'm around, and leap on bugs like an animal when they're brought to my attention. I looked into the Firefox problem and it seems to be a javascript caching issue. I believe I've taken care of it, so all should be groovy.

    If you have suggestions for improving the organization, by all means let us know about them!

    shmax

    p.s. Oh, and TheNotoriousROB, I noticed that the capitalization in your name was getting mangled--I've fixed that as well.

     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2009
  8. MegaHavok

    MegaHavok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    4,506
    News Credits:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +18
    The site set up is fine by me. However there is a big lag when the lists are loading and when adding items to your collection. I have only gotten as far as animated, alternators, and classics, and I need a break. Maybe if you could select the stuff you wanted to add and then add it all in one shot instead of one time. This way is too slow for me. I do like the over all concept but it just take to long to add all my toys one at a time
     
  9. firehawc_69

    firehawc_69 cloppers = ignore list

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    10,631
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Likes:
    +10
    Yeah, I just tried to set that Shmax thing up...not very user friendly at all, slow too. I was hoping for more of a checklist format, not the 3rd degree...
     
  10. JCMGTX

    JCMGTX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    480
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +1
    here ya go...
     
  11. transformers32

    transformers32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,498
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +3
    I sighned up also but the site is slow slow slow and i got a couple things done but just gave up everytime i got on the site it took 30 mins to do a couple things so probally wont be using the site anymore.
     
  12. Batman

    Batman The Dark Knight TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    11,553
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +15
    Ebay:
    Me too. I couldn't even get MP Prime added to my collection.
     
  13. shmax

    shmax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    It only takes one click to add a toy to your collection! The details are there if you want to mess with them, but you certainly don't need to fiddle with them if you're not interested. We used to have a simple checkbox interface, but it just wasn't versatile enough to handle more complex operations (such as people owning more than one instance of a toy, or wanting to indicate that they keep it loose, etc). Every now and then we get someone who doesn't notice the "Add to my collection" link and tries to use the "Add Package" or "Add Figure" links, which takes you to a big scary form. Is that what happened to you?

    For those of you reporting slow performance--don't grumble about it here, post it in the shmax forums! I spent a good month optimizing the site, but every now and then the search-bots will discover something I missed. I suspect the recent lag was caused by "symbol searches", which were taking up to 60 seconds and causing all other page requests to pile up. I've just now replaced those searches with a more friendly faction name search. So, things should be better now. Happy clicking...

     
  14. juise

    juise TFW2005 Token Negro

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2,467
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Nice idea but, _WAY_ to slow.

    I would suggest the edit collection have a text only listing style option. So when I go to the Alternators listing it gives me a text list of all the Alternators. I check off the ones I have (via checkboxes) and hit add to my collection.
     
  15. thenatureboywoo

    thenatureboywoo Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Posts:
    8,206
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +18
    So i just joined the shmax to set up a checklist for myself. It's slow, and I can see how a person can feel they've accomplished something by doing this. It's going to take a long time to do it.
     
  16. brr-icy

    brr-icy G1 Collector

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    15,694
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +140
    Ebay:
    [​IMG]

    i don't use mine as my sig, because i like mine but it is a handy checklist
     
  17. Powersa

    Powersa Car Robots

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    3,570
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +2
    [​IMG]

    I tried...

    I can see my flash sig at shmax but I don't think it works here.
     
  18. Dinobot Nuva

    Dinobot Nuva Johnny 3 Tears Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    7,968
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +15
    That and the ridiculous amount of emails I get from them every week. Not worth it.
     
  19. shmax

    shmax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    What emails are you talking about? By my count I've sent less than 10 system-wide emails in more than 3 years of running the site, and certainly never more than 1 in a week. Is that really annoyance enough to make the entire site "not worth it"? I knew you fans were tough to please, but this is getting ridiculous!


     
  20. jerminator

    jerminator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,415
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    142
    Likes:
    +5
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Instagram:
    it's modest, but mine.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2009

Share This Page