Playstation 3 internet help.

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by newguy, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. newguy

    newguy i

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2,913
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    Finaly after a year i got the ethernet cord (50ft not wifi) for my ps3. I figured all i needed to do was plug it in, but of course im an idiot and very wrong. With my internet router there is only one ethernet plug in so i just unplug the computer and plug in the playstation. Instead of doing custome set up i pick the easy one, but for some reason it's the exact same thing. I do every thing on automatic. When i test the connection it says FAILED; Ip adress timed out.


    For most people that doesn't happen,but im one of the lucky few who have to wait for answers. I really need some one to talk me through what to do. Like if you say find you dns primary and secondary connection, i dont know what the hell that is. My router doesnt have a number on it that can be put into the router number thingy, and I have 2 IP adresses. One for the ps3 and another for my computer (which do i use?).
     
  2. geerave

    geerave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    512
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    did you reset the router (unplug the router for about 20 seconds) before pluging it into the ps3?
     
  3. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    yeah what he said. Internet has been pretty automatic (plug and play) for a while now, and I do have to swap connections sometimes.
     
  4. Mixmaster

    Mixmaster logh ghot SIS yoD TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,740
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Likes:
    +34
    There are so many things that can be wrong here. The PS3 should setup automatically. As long as the PS3 is not faulty, the problem may be with the ethernet cable or the router.

    Make sure the ethernet cable is not a cross-over cable and is CAT5 or CAT5e, also try your PS3 on your computer's connection if possible.

    If you don't want to keep swapping network plugs buy a network hub or switch, this should divide the internet betweek the computer and the PS3.
     

Share This Page